We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where the locals go for their pizza !”
Review of Za Pizza

Za Pizza
Ranked #8 of 5,737 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Russian Hill
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Where the locals go for their pizza !”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed a few streets away from this amazing little spot, decided we needed to grab a few slices of pizza there as it looked like all regulars from the neighborhood ate here. Oh boy were we happy. Not only is the pizza & salad wonderful the staff is so friendly and welcoming we went back again! They have different specials every night my favorite was the Van Dough but everything is wonderful. If you are in the rea stop by for a slice you will not be disappointed! :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stacy436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    83
    13
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth the walk”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We search for local establishments vs. chains when traveling. Reviews said it was near the Lombard St trolley car stop. It was a few blocks, mostly down hill, and well worth the walk. It is small, but the staff was very welcoming and the pizza was well worth the price. We aren't big eaters with 2 daughters, but we got 3 pieces of pizza and a salad and it was perfect for lunch. The salad was as large as the pizza and tasted wonderful.
We are from Baltimore, Md and due to the friendly nature of the staff found out one of them was from here as well. They treat you as someone they know!
It is a great place to get away from the tourist trap restaurants and meet some of the local people as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning New York
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A short walk from the Lombart Street attraction”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Excellent pizza, very cool owner. Not much more than a few tables and chairs, kids coloring creations on the wall and a few photographs for sale but so worth the visit. If I lived in San Francisco this is where I'd go for a slice. And often.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mommacat41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great salad, pizza and price.”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We were in the area after walking around the neighbourhood, and hungry, found Za Pizza. Great little bar with good service. We chose our pizza and ordered a large salad to share...we got 3 big bowls of fresh, tasty salad - we didn't say we'd only ordered one, as it looked so good and we thought it must have been a misunderstanding; however, when we came to pay, we were charged for just 1 large salad. Pizza was being made as we waited, we all chose off the specials board so didn't have to wait long for our pizza. Food was good, slices are large and it's an unpretentious easy place to eat. Gracious service in a very "real" place to eat. If you want to eat somewhere that feels local and real - this is the place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anonimouse101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Delicious, huge pizzas”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

First of all, don't even attempt to eat the pizzas from Za Pizza on your own as they are huge! Secondly, the place is tiny so takeout might be the safest choice. Me and my boyfriend arrived with the intention of getting a big pizza and sharing it but when we were show how big a large pizza is at Za Pizza we humbly opted for a medium, which we still struggled to finish. Not from the lack of trying, as it was very tasty, that just how huge the pizzas are. We opted for a chicken pizza and I almost always think the chicken is too dry on chicken pizzas but on this one it was just perfection and it was prepared right under our eyes. The prices are very reasonable considering the size and quality of the pizza so give it a try, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Za Pizza also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Za Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing