We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the wait in line!”
Review of Swan Oyster Depot

Swan Oyster Depot
Ranked #115 of 5,823 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery
Neighborhood: Polk Gulch
Reviewed July 20, 2016 via mobile

We went here on a Wednesday around 1:15 and got a seat around 2 PM. Our dining experience was worth every minute of standing in line. The staff behind the counter were incredibly friendly and helped us to choose the most delicious dishes. Although they were very busy, each person took the time to chat with us and make sure we were having the best experience possible.
The food was incredible. We started with clam chowder and a mixed dozen of oysters. Unbelievable! We also got sour dough bread to dip into our chowder-yum. Then we split the crab cocktail. And of course some anchor steam to wash it all down. This was more than enough food for two people for lunch. Wow! What a great meal!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (746)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

214 - 218 of 746 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2016

We got a late start on a Saturday (11am) and by the time we arrived there was a line up the street. Nice folks in front of us were regulars and estimated a 2 hour wait. There are only 16 seats at the counter, and no one is rushed, so the wait can be quite long. After 2-1/2 hours we were seated and gorged ourselves on succulent oysters, sashimi, seafood cocktail. Good hearty bread and butter, and friendly staff completed the experience. Try to go early (line up about 9:30 or 10 for their 10:30 seating) and not on a Friday or Saturday. You will not be disappointed. If you have to wait a long time, remember that it will be worth the wait.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank fullervi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2016

My husband and I went to Swan Oyster Depot on a Friday morning around 10:00 am thinking there would be no line. Wrong. There was a line out the door.......waited a while outside. But the food and service is so amazing and worth the wait. They also send you home with a post card and a sponge business card. Love my experience here!!

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Penland B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2016 via mobile

I have come back here 6 times and really enjoy this place. I don't mind waiting in line. the crab Louie salad is worth it. Try the sour dough bread with butter and chowder. I come here everytime I am in SF.

Date of visit: November 2015
1  Thank RodgerK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

Get their early, like right when they open and get the crab back. Bring your cash!! I had the best lunch ever with an assortment of oysters with a crab back and an anchor steam. Loved it so much. Can not wait to go back.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank nettysgirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swan Oyster Depot also viewed

 

Been to Swan Oyster Depot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.