We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple and great”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Swan Oyster Depot

Swan Oyster Depot
Ranked #123 of 5,642 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Nob Hill
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Simple and great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

This place was worth the wait. We got here half hour before the restaurant opened and I couldn't make the first seating, but it was fine.
I had the sea urchin, half crab, oysters, and clam chowder.
According to one of the review, they served the brainy part of the crab and I was looking forward to it, but I didn't get any. Anyhow, everything was fresh and tasted great. I don't think I have eaten a sea urchin that big and sweet. It was delicious. Like other reviews, the clam chowder is tasty, but not thick.

Quick service and the guys in there know what they are talking about. Just trust them. Don't ask what's good that day. Everything is fresh and good. If you have questions about oysters and crabs, you probably don't know at all, so just eat what you get. They will not fail you.

Don't sit around and loiter. Just order what you want, eat it, and get out. It's that kind of place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kewpiemayodoll40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    155
    53
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't love it any more”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

This is definitly good experience to learn more about Oyster, Blue point is memoriable, BUT the father will be the only person reliable for me, we two got two round of full oyster, the one from the father is much more better than the younger son. Combination salad with smoked salmon and white fish is good, fresh. Clam chowder is ok. House wine is good served with freeze glasses. Love the lovely family owned store, i will back someday if i visit S F

Helpful?
1 Thank Labellee
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very good but slightly overrated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

I visited for Sunday lunch and arrived at opening time. After queuing for 45 minutes I got a seat at the bar. I took the oysters, chowder and crab salad. The oysters & the crab salad were excellent. The chowder was a little uninspiring. Overall an excellent meal but didn't quite live up to the hype.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If your craving is seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

There's only one thing you need to know.
It's worth the wait and go for oyster!
Well, that's actually two things, but I think you get my drift!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Olle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Worth standing in line”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We knew we were at the right place by the line outside of the small store front seafood store/restaurant. From reading the excellent reviews before our trip, I knew we would have a bit of a wait. The restaurant had only counter seating which allows you to watch as your food is prepared. As we got close to the front of the line, one of the staff offered everyone a glass of wine or beer on the house; seconds were also offered. The Anchor Steam and sauvignon blanc definitely made the wait easier. The staff is entertaining and helpful, but the food is the star here. My husband had a delicious clam chowder packed with fresh clams in a creamy broth. I had a generous portion of smoked salmon with capers and onions and a shrimp salad. Everything was fresh and delectable. The atmosphere is part of the experience, chaotic and lively with the guests packed at the old-fashioned counter. Overall, we totally enjoyed ourselves!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank coyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swan Oyster Depot also viewed

 

Been to Swan Oyster Depot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing