We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great san francisco style chinese -- like i remember”
Review of Eric's Restaurant

Eric's Restaurant
Ranked #666 of 5,693 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $22
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Noe Valley
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“great san francisco style chinese -- like i remember”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great to find this neighborhood chinese place, just like i remember growing up in san francisco. Simple, well prepared, served too fast, but that's how they do it in San Francisco chinese restaurants. Only thing to improve is that the spicy dishes should be spiced up a bit, or perhaps customers can just ask to increase it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RomeKedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    30
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ra'anana, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food for a great price”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stumbled on this restaurant by chance as we got off the tram near the apartment we were renting. It looked interesting so we looked it up and found it had good reviews. However, in reality, it was even better. There is a wide variety of vegetarian and fish dishes. Every thing we ordered was excellent. From the Salmon special through the Hunan Fish, the avocado rolls and the veggie rice. The portions are large, the service is good and the prices are more than reasonable.
We highly recommend this restaurant and will be happy to try it again next time we're in town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in the city”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The name and the storefront would never lead you to believe that this is some of the most delicious Chinese food in a city packed with great Chinese food. The Victorian house is bright and airy and the food is too. Authentic menu and flavors, no where near Chinatown, clean and delicious--and recommended to me by my Chinese friend who grew up in SF and knows Chinatown like the back of his hand. You will be surprised and thrilled by how good this place is. I get cravings for the crispy beef.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Umbeijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad and Tobago
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tasty and inexpensive”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Eric's is a favourite of mine and I always take my out of town visitors to Eric's. The food is very tasty and is a Californian Chinese fusion that works. The place is small (only about 10 tables) so go early (5 - 6pm) for dinner or be prepared to wait.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank SimonTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Medium happy”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The food was interesting. A little too fat soaked. Good flavors. Try to get away from the drafty door. Service is good and the workers are friendly.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zlato50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eric's Restaurant also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Eric's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing