We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly family restaurant in West Portal”
Review of Fresca

Fresca
Ranked #1,155 of 5,711 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ulloa-Vicente
Waterloo
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Friendly family restaurant in West Portal”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Started with the Tequenos then I had the Paella - fresh and good ( ate it all ) could have used larger portions seafood and chorizo but was not disappointed. My spousevhad the Lomo saltado. Well done beef and the fresh ripe tomatoes were a nice balance. Daughter had roast chicken which she thoroughly enjoyed.

Large portions, fun small intimate setting. Would recommend

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank canadafoodiewannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    22
    10
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenbrae, California
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Too loud, too cramped and too bad I won't be back.”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We came here for the first time and it will be the last. There were four of us and you could barely hear a word across the table. The restaurant is small and table sizes reflect this so you can only imagine how loud the place was. I dont really care if they have the best Peruvian cuisine outside of Peru, if you can't hear your table mates the dinner is a failure.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jarjar8271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athenry, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Homely Restaurant”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Went to Fresca Restaurant on Wed 22nd Feb, for lunch, what a great little restaurant, the food was great, the service was great, our waiter Mauricio was very friendly and helpful, great value for money, would recommend Fresca will call again when in SFO

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatrickLeader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Interesting Peruvian/fusion”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

This is a pretty interesting restaurant. The dishes are inventive and tasty, and the ingredients seem fresh and well prepared. The ceviche is good, not the best I've ever had but perfectly tasty. The restaurant is a little noisy, so be prepared for that. Not all the tables are well located, particularly the ones by the door feel cramped.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Quetzalcoatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daly City, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“'Twas an epicurean experience...”
Reviewed July 31, 2011

My boyfriend and I hoped to have a pleasant dinner away from our typical upbeat bar and lounge scene. I found plenty of nearby restaurants on Yelp, but I chose Fresca because of two things: their menu offered Nouveau Peruvian cuisine; and I have only indulged in home-cooked Peruvian meals. Although I booked our reservation for 9:45, we were greeted and seated immediately upon our 15-minute premature arrival.

Our server, Carlos, was amazing! During his introduction, he assured me food allergens I disclosed prior on http://OpenTable.com were not going to be a problem. He was very attentive, courteous, and knowledgeable when I had questions about items on the menu. His enthusiasm caused us to order more than we anticipated.

We were delighted to have devoured the following:

Ceviche "5" Elementos - halibut, onion, rocoto pepper, lime juice, and sea salt.

Anticuchos - beef heart skewers, aji panca-achiote glaze, aji verde aioli, Yukon potatoes, and salsa criolla.

Chuleton de Chancho - grilled pork chop, black bean "tacu-tacu", aji honey mustard, plantains, and mango mustard salsa.

Churrasco - grilled new york steak, potato gratin, watercress, mushroom demi-glace, and tomato chimichurri.

Tres Leches cake with Dulce de Leche ice cream in caramel-chocolate sauce. Positively sinful!

All of the above accompanied by a couple Cerveza Cristal - la cerveza del Perú, a chicha morada, and a tall glass of Inca Kola came to a grand total of $97.11 before gratuity. It was well worth it, if you ask me.

A+ for flavor, presentation, and service.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KhrisTZGoByeBye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fresca also viewed

 

Been to Fresca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing