We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is great, the cocktails are the best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aziza

Aziza
Ranked #718 of 5,627 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: Moroccan, African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: The Richmond
Cross street: 22nd Ave.
Blue Lake, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Food is great, the cocktails are the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

The yelp reviews almost reach 2,000 on this place and its rated above a 4 star rating. I gave it a 5 but would give it a 4.5 if that was possible. The reason is the portion size of the food is a little small for the price. The food was outstanding! Our meat, fish and chicken were perfectly cooked, actually to a point where you could tell things had been slow cooked as opposed to flash cooked on a super hot stove to get the meals out. The servers were all so, so nice and helpful. We both had deserts (of course there's room for desert with those little portions) and they were outstanding. Top notch desert chef. And the cocktails. I could write a whole paragraph just on these. The have these in house invevted (I'm assuming), hand muddled, drinks that are spectacular. I only had two but wanted to have ten. The combos included ingredients such as grapefruit, absinth, honey, cayenne, lavender... If you don't want to drop the loot for the dinner go for desert and cocktails or just for cocktails. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thermos5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    60
    24
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Exciting food, BUT....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Generally speaking, Aziza is a fascinating restaurant, with generally good service and some extraordinary fine tasting food... But just like The French Laundry where the chef once worked, we won't return to either. If money is no issue, go for it. BUT this is one of those places where a lot of what you get is just very small portions with very big prices. It is OK to have exquisite food in small portions where you barely get to taste what it is all about before it is gone, but eventually the cost factor starts to creep in; or the fact that these tiny tastes don't satisfy (at least for us, your mileage may vary). And we are not talking about the prix fixe menu (which with wine pairings tax and tip is going to push or break $400 for two people). $22 for couscous with cauliflower?

There is some really wonderful food here. If what we've written above doesn't concern you (or even makes you want to go even more), go there!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank traveler98761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magnificent Moroccan Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

This Moroccan restaurant is one of California's finest. Begin with the superb spreads served with flavorfully grilled, not baked, flat bread. Creative preparation of fresh ingredients for a first course always results in a wonderful dish. Last evening we enjoyed a salad plate with parsley root, parsnips, a dab of huckleberry, and sweetened nuts. The duck basteeya, which can be an appetizer, was ordered as an entree and marvelous. The pastry was light and flaky, and the duck filling was brilliantly spiced with hints of barely detectable cinnamon. The yellow tail tuna was perfectly prepared and served with an interesting broccoli cauliflower side. The wait staff is attentive, but not hovering, and extremely professional. If there's a flaw, it's the notable absence of any California red wines on the predominantly European wine list. Valet parking makes Aziza's location on the west end of Geary very do-able for those of us who do not live near. Enjoy this magnificent dining opportunity.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Make Sure to Save Room...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

There is no need to fly to Morocco for terrific Moroccan food..

Four of us dined and all were impressed by the food, wine-list and wait-staff.

Do you like lentil soup? If so, you MUST order it. You will love it! If lentil soup leaves you cold, then you must still give it a try as it will convert you right on the spot.

The mains: one lamb, two fish, and one cous-cous. All prepared with patent care. No regrets.

Wine-list covers the universe and offers selections you would expect only in far-away places. We asked the server for help and the choice he make was spot on.

Now, do make sure to save room for dessert. Oh, golly, did we have a memorable experience. It consisted of a chocolate ganashe base, frozen, shaved goat yogurt, and a glob of persimmon sorbet. Wow!!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank essay811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Creative Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

This was the most creative meal I have ever eaten. It was just exquisite! The pictures are not in the order that we ate them. We had the tasting menu with matching wines. The food was fantastic. I would highly recommend this restaurant. I can hardly wait to go back to San Francisco and eat there again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alton11-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aziza also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Aziza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing