We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special place outside tourist cener”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Aziza

Aziza
Ranked #705 of 5,642 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: Moroccan, African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: The Richmond
Cross street: 22nd Ave.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Special place outside tourist cener”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

My husband and I visited Aziza in late September, 2013. I made a reservation a week in advance via opentable. The atmosphere is lovely, low-key, if a bit warm. The staff were just wonderful and our food was very good. My most memorable dish was the salad I ordered to start - it had unusual ingredients and was very refreshing. I did not love the duck confit, as it was on the sweet side; however, the menu did say that it had raisins, so I should have known. My husband ordered lentil soup to start and lamb shank for the main course - they were both delicious! We also ordered dessert and a bottle of wine - we were not disappointed! We found a real gem for our next trip to SF!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Khochi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    60
    24
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
143 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Little Dishes but HUGE Flavors”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

I've had Moroccan food in Toronto, Portugal, and in Morocco. This place definitely stood out from all those locations because of the interesting use of ingredients. For example, we ordered the Lentil soup and it had Medjool dates. Just adding the dates alone made the soup one of the best i've tasted. The hummus and pita pieces sounds simple enough, but not when the restaurant is seasoning and baking the pieces of pita bread....and each of the flavors of hummus were so original from anything else that we've tasted before.

We ordered the couscous for our entree since we wanted starters, and even with a dish serving just couscous and veggies there was so much flavor packed in the dish. We loved this restaurant just because we kept getting surprised with each bite of food. The service was good when we went, but we went early before the dinner rush. Also, order a cocktail because those were also unique and delicious.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhoenixRising7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“It deserves a 5, but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

The food was fabulous. We especially liked the basteeya with duck confit and the lamb dishes. The wine list was on the high side. The wait staff proficient, knowledgeable, and pleasant. The hostess was unpleasant and unprofessional -- I would have given the restaurant a 5 but for her. Please note: If you are counting on using the valet parking offered on the web site, do not make your reservation for a Monday night. For some reason, they cannot do valet parking that night. I know this because we went on a Monday and spent quite a while looking for parking.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank astorix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, but service was lacking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Aziza has one Michelin Star and the food was great, but service was extremely slow and not really up to par. I have been to many other one star restaurants and had fantastic service so this is an outlier. Its worth a try, but would not return.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank monarchy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
“Moroccan food at it's best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

The duck confit basteeya was the best thing I have ever ate. I still have dreams about this tasty dish. It's a one star michelin experience but the atmosphere is cozy and casual.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aziza also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Aziza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing