We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find!”

Tommy's Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #707 of 5,642 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $1 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: The Richmond
Arlington, TX
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great find!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

This place was not far from the apartment we rented and we Texans loved the Mexican food here. They have an extensive tequila menu. No kids menu but large portions for great prices!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank justdoittx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    31
    13
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
182 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Mexican”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Have been here before, but Tommy's is always worth a return trip. We went here with whole family while in San Francisco for a wedding and everyone was pleased with the meal. The Yucatan offerings were delicious. The enchiladas were perfect. The guac was delish and the Margaritas were lovely!
The atmosphere and wait staff rounded out a meal that had 3 generations planning to return!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Love2travelVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Go for the food, stay for the tequila”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I live dangerously close to this establishment for many years, and I wish I could still be there on a moments notice. Every time I am in the Bay Area, this is a MUST stop at least once, and multiple times if I am in town more than a few days.

The tequila selection is second to none. Show me a selection finer than this one and I will be booking my plane fair tomorrow. If you like margaritas, these are the best I have ever had. If you like your tequila in a snifter, there is hours of enjoyment in front of you at this establishment. DO NOT order Cuervo Gold!!! Nothing but bad things will come of that.

If you decide to eat here, order from the Yucatan Peninsula part of the menu. This is where the family is from, this is the type of food that they know and cook best. If you like shrimp, the Camerones A La Diablo is awesome. For chicken try the Pollo Pibil.

It can be a wait at times, but believe me it is worth it.

Love it every time.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kawhileiwhilei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corte Madera, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“YUMMY”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great food and atmosphere! It gets quite busy but it's well worth the wait. Plus, the bar can keeps you buys as you wait for your table. Drinks are just as delicious as the food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Best”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great food but the Margaritas are to die for. JUst a bit outside the main downtown area but well worth the trip.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tommy's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tommy's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing