We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“savored every detail”

Garibaldi's on Presidio
Reserve with OpenTable
Garibaldi's on Presidio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #572 of 5,664 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Sacramento & Clay Sts.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“savored every detail”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

This is a beautiful restaurant with impeccable service and delightfully inspired food. As an out-of-towner setting up a business dinner with colleagues, I relied on a recommendation to select the perfect spot for dinner with an important client. This was a winner!

The food and drink choices were interesting and varied - no one was disappointed with the selection or execution. The staff was very helpful and accommodating (we came straight from a meeting and had more accessories than room) and managed the check beautifully.

I would highly recommend this restaurant to other folks on business travel as well as solo diners, couples, and friends. If you're looking for a nice night out, this classy restaurant will fit the bill.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank xpuctr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    47
    15
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denali National Park and Preserve, Alaska
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Very cute and modern location with amazing food! The staff was wonderful, they were very attentive the entire time and made sure to be personable. Just fostered a wonderful environment where I definitely want to go back to time and time again. You must check this place out!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jordan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Over-rated but with some merit”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Loved our waitress, she was cool. Recommended a great wine. Appetizers: rice balls and grilled octopus delicious as was the Caesar salad. Cavatelli with Ragu also great, now the disappointment...tuna. The waitress did not ask how I wanted it cooked. I do like it medium rare but figured this was such a fine establishment That I didn't need to ask for it cooked medium rare. Boy, was I wrong, never assume. The tuna was SO well done and dry. Plus, there were way to many spices, herbs and favors incorporated into the plate. The chef needed a little more restraint with this dish....there was cumin flavor somewhere on the plate and I personally don't like the flavor of cumin, and would never pair tuna with cumin. Am I wrong here? My husband had Steak, which was okay. He said he should just have had the pasta as his main course and not order a steak in an Italian restaurant. Dessert was a delicious chocolate treat. The restaurant got so busy that our waitress hardly came around once she took our order. It took a very long time to get our check. The place did get noisy, so if you are going to eat here, go early. Must say the Sommelier did come around and was nice, but they make money if she comes around. It would have been nice if the waitress came around a bit more too. The hostess was absolutely lovely. If we returned to SF, we would not go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great finale to our trip”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had a great a waiter named Carlos. We took all his recommendations. The calamari is not to be missed. The lamb was perfection and the chicken was good but too large a portion. It is a very popular restaurant in the Pacific Heights area that seems to have a regular clientele. We would definitely go back. It is reasonably priced and the portions are very generous. We would not have both the Anti pasti course and the starter course ...one of those is enough.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketchum
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Elegant dining with great food”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

An upscale restaurant with superb food. Great wait staff. Fresh fish is superb and lamb tenderloin my all time favorite meal.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Geri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garibaldi's on Presidio also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Garibaldi's on Presidio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing