We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
San Francisco
Post
Inbox
Search

“Great Korean BBQ in the heart of San Fran”
Review of YakiniQ BBQ

YakiniQ BBQ
Ranked #1,222 of 6,556 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: Korean
Neighborhood: Japantown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Japantown
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent Korean BBQ in Japan Town. The restaurant is better than it looks. Great friendly service, two "all you can eat" options, both with ample choices, meats are fresh, tasty and servings ample., They also have some vegetarian options. Pretty good selection of Korean drinks. If you want to have an affordable Korean feast, this is your place.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank 886nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 50 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2019

I am a sucker for all you can eat places. This place does not disappoint. While it is expensive at 24 or 27 dollars depending on the food that you want; the portions are good and the food is delicious.

Protip: Decide what time you want to eat, then 1.5 hours before your time, put your name in the yelp app waitlist. Generally, the waitlist is 45 minutes to 1.5 hours. That way you can sightsee and then Uber to the restaurant.

Overall, a fantastic final meal in San Francisco

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rossh31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2019

+: The service was very fast and the side dishes were delicious
-: The food was a big disappointment. It was brought to the table straight out of the freezer. It was tasteless and very tough
We have been to many similar places and this one was the worst. I would give it a poor rating but the staff pushes it up to average.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank miathecat24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2018 via mobile

We passed by lady night and the aroma from the street was amazing. We came up the staircase to a hip and happening place. The crowd is young and the energy was high. The wait was over and an hour and we were starving from a long day of moving. Several hours later we got a call from the owner, Tony. He apologized for the long wait. Now that is customer service. Who does that? That phone call and the smell made us know there was only one place in the city we were having dinner on our second night.

We arrived around 10 PM. To my great surprise they were still busy and a line at the door. This time we waited. Great crowd once again. There were large groups, small groups and bday parties. As the guest get up to leave a crew comes out to clean the tables and everything is clean and tidy in what seemed to be about 60 seconds.

We were seated and our Servers name was Moses What a great spirit and server. He took great care in guiding us through the evenings selection. He was so good that we ended up just letting him chose what came next. If you are new to the s type of food then ask for Moses. Rest assured you will be in the best of hands.

The food was amazing. You cook all the meats on a grill in the middle of the table. The smell is intoxicating and your taste buds water while waiting for the first round to be ready. Make sure you bring a healthy Appetite. This is not a restaurant where you want to come and just pick a little.

After our dinner was over, Tony came to the table and made sure our visit was good. Once again demonstrating great customer service and care for the guest. I look forward to attending this restaurant again in the near future.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank D6206KMtonyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2018

During a recent visit to San Francisco, we stayed at the Hotel Kabuki in Japantown which is right across Post Street from YakiniQ. We are adventurous eaters, so we had to try it. The restaurant opens at 5 pm on Saturdays and we got there around 5:20 and got the last booth open. Obviously it is very popular, particularly with young men, and when we left there were people waiting everywhere there was a spot to stand and all the way down the stairs to the street level.

There were 4 of us, so we each got the $26.99 all-you-can-eat group of ingredients that you cook on a burner at your table. We all liked most of the chicken, pork, and beef items. I liked the Fire Baby Octopus. I love beef tongue, but it turned out to be quite tough cooked like this (I ate it anyway). I also like pork skin, but that turned out to be impossible to cook. The biggest surprise was the beef intestines, which were tender and quite tasty. Would we go again? Probably not, unless we are with some folks who just really want to try it.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AldebaranFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to YakiniQ BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing