We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Borobudur

Borobudur
Reserve with OpenTable
Borobudur is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #373 of 5,693 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Jones Street
Description: Come experience home style Indonesian cooking featuring a variety of flavors from across the islands. Indonesia is located at the crossroads of the ancient world, astride the great trade routes between the Middle East and Asia. Wave after wave of traders, adventurers, pirates, and immigrants have been drawn by the riches of these Spice Islands. All brought their native cuisine with them. When you come to Borobudur Restaurant, you can find various authentic Indonesian cuisine including tropical drinks from many different regions. Known as San Francisco’s most popular Indonesian restaurant. Asian Week had it right when they said we serve the best Indonesian food in the Bay Area!
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The food was really good and was pretty authentic in general. I lived in Indonesia for some time and really enjoyed the street food there. When I saw an Indonesian restaurant, I was expecting the food to be presented as it would be in Indonesia. I was dissapointed when my Siomay Bandung did not look like the way I remembered it, but no fret, the taste was excellent.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank fionanja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    78
    28
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
118 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Started off wondering”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

When we walked into the restaurant at nearly 7 p.m., we wondered if we had made a mistake. The restaurant was completely empty of customers. In fact, we were there at least 10 minutes before any other customers walked in. But by the time we left, another 30-35 customers had entered. And, if they are like us, they will not be disappointed. The service was quite friendly and informative, even after they became busy. And the food was extremely plentiful and well prepared. The wife and I walked out of there completely satisfied for less than $25.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, Mississippi
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent food, very friendly”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We came into this restaurant late at night, (20 mins before closing), hungry and tired after finally getting settled into our hotel. Although it was so late, I felt we got the prime time service, which being tired and hungry, we really appreciated. The servers were very pleasant, and even, politely laughed at our bad jokes, and, even at this hour, the food was very good. We had never eaten at an Indonesian restaurant before (which has much to do with why we chose this one), and took some time with the menu. Even at this time, the servers were very pleasant and helpful. The food was fresh and delicious. We were very pleased with our experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pfanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

What can I say, my husbands family is from Indonesia and this food was spot on. Excellent sized servings, tasty and fresh food and good service. Don't miss out

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shellyanne61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Enjoyable meal in an unpretentious setting. Very reasonably priced. I had a noodle dish with chicken and vegetables that I kept eating way past the point that I was full. Very reasonably priced.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank NCGirl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Borobudur also viewed

San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Borobudur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing