We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, Good Thai”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bangkok Best - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bangkok Best
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Financial District
Happy Valley, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value, Good Thai”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

While the restaurant is very simple, the food is good. You're not paying for atmosphere or ambiance here. If you are on a tight budget, your ticket for a dinner at Bangkok Best can easily be less than $20 per person.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    1
    6
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
178 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Avoid unless ravenous”
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Went in here for an on-the-go lunch during a busy day. Place was packed and smelled good. I ordered the Praram vegetables with tofu and peanut sauce.

Food arrived quickly. The plate was loaded with vegetables and fried tofu doused liberally with a mealy looking peanut sauce. The tofu was chewy (like when silken tofu is fried too long) and the sauce was sickeningly sweet.

Service is pleasant but perfunctory.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SelectTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Okay Thai Food”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Restaurant was empty when we came in - sat by the window to watch people going by. Waiter was friendly, food came out quickly and tasted fine - not the best Thai food I've ever had but definitely not the worst either.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maplemooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We ate here mid-week for dinner and were disappointed by our experience. The restaurant looked fairly clean, but the toilets were quite bad. They were in a cramped area next to the kitchen, which looked like a takeaway kitchen. There was boxes and a spatula in the bathroom bizarrely. The restaurant itself was fine, but unfortunately there was only one overworked woman waiting on the whole restaurant, which didn't have any spare tables. This meant that when we wanted to leave we did have to wait quite a long time to get the bill and the tables were not cleared quickly. The food wasn't impressive either. If I go back to San Francisco in the future, I wouldn't eat here again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AdvoKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
196 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Handy Thai in Finacial District”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We were staying nearby and wanted a quick bite to eat. The Bangkok Best looked clean and not crowded. We order the standard Phad Thai and calamari. The calamari was battered and deep fried. While not greasy, the batter overwhelmed the calamari. The Phad Thai was good-not too sweet, right hotness level, and not too sticky. As aside, one of our college-aged sons used the bathroom and came out to warn me not to use it-must have been really bad if a college boy was grossed out!?

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Soccer2Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangkok Best also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing