We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Bother”

New Delhi Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
New Delhi Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #926 of 5,693 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Union Square
Cross street: Powell and Mason
Transit: Bart and Muni – both one block from restaurant
Description: For over 25 years, New Delhi Restaurant has been serving a robust andflavorful menu fit for foodies from San Francisco to India. With each meal and each dish, New Delhi Restaurant strives to uphold its long time reputation of extraordinary Indian cuisine elegantly served.New Delhi Restaurant is the premier restaurant for upscale Indian cuisine in San Francisco. Decorated like a Maharajah's ornate banquet room, the restaurant serves food made from recipes culled from the royalIndian menus dating back 300 to 400 years using the freshest ingredientsavailable. An authentic Tandoori oven and specialty crafted spices bring theflavors of India straight to every plate.Within walking distance of major hotels and Union Square, the word of New Delhi Restaurant's authentic fare has spread far: from Bill Clinton to Julia Child, celebrities, Silicon Valley moguls, and politicians frequent the restaurant.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

This used to be a good go to mid range Indian restaurant.

Went there years later this weekend (as there are many other options now) and food was awful.

Ordered Rogan Josh...swimming with onions and no flavor.
The saag paneer....can't get that wrong was spinach with paneer and again no flavor.
Finally the seekh kebab...hard as rock.

I would not write a bad review ...but i think this restaurant has such potential given their location that the sub par food is a shame.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thetravelbug2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    92
    56
    34
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good authentic Indian meal”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We went twice to this restaurant in Union Square and both times we felt the food was really good : Indian and not 'American Indian' as sometimes happens in these restaurants. This among other things also meant that they spiced the food precisely as they do in India, and did not make food bland for customers not used to the spices. We were the only Indians having a meal there, though!

Except for their gulab jamuns which tasted a little odd, and their 'nimbu pani' which tasted like good old bottled lemonade, everything from their dal tadka down to rasmalais was absolutely satisfactory. Definitely worth a visit if you are craving Indian food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham-by-Sea
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A really good restaurant”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

My brother-in-law and I were on a 'tram-spotting' holiday in San Francisco and our last night was at the New Delhi restaurant on Ellis Street. Doesn't look much from the outside but minside is a different kettle of fish. Marble columns etc. add to the lovely atmosphere. The meal was excellent as well.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlanPiatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Not too bad”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Being from the UK the bar is set high to impress for indian food and whilst this wasn't the best I've ever had it certainly wasn't the worst
We were stopping in Union square and there are 2 indian food places this and another - walked past the other and glad we chose this
We arrived around 8pm and had a drink first, place quiet (only 1 other person at bar) but a few more people came in around 9pm as we went to our table
The starters were very nice - I had chicken kebab and Mrs had lentil fritters and in normal US standards these were massive
Main course had a BBQ Indian chicken ... It was OK, a strange mixture but edible ... Mrs had a chicken madras which was medium (although in US it was considered hot) .. I do not like hot curry but had a taste and it was ok
Naan bread was ok (keema) but the garlic naan was nasty
Service good - not excellent but ok
Decor and atmosphere was fine - no problems
Would I return ?? Yes

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank perky88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worst Indian food I have had”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I had the non vegetarian dinner for $26.95. The tandoori chicken was very good. The rest of the meal ranged from mediocre (nan and rice) to really bad (bland and watery) chicken masala and mixed vegetable curry.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob-Ottawa-27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Delhi Restaurant also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to New Delhi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing