We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yummy, serious sushi”
Review of Sakana

Sakana
Ranked #316 of 5,741 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“yummy, serious sushi”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Great dinner with excellent rolls, beautiful hamachi, excellent monkfish liver. uni was super-fresh. Lots of locals (good sign) even though in hotel district. interesting appetizers. corkage fee is $15.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank peachesmesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    58
    14
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Top value sushi”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

This is an un-pretentious, but great place to enjoy fine sushi. Exceptional sea urchin for those with that weakness. Very reasonably priced unlike most other flashier places in the neighborhood. Beware of confusion with another "Japanese" restaurant at 639 Post St.
This place callse for repeat visits!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ch6006hc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Trendy, crowded, good”
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

They love their fish.
Not bad prices, a great experience, and top tastes.
Not very creative, but a fish-head ahead of most.

Helpful?
Thank Are H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dallas, TX
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic Spot!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We ate here the first night we arrived in San Francisco. We got in early and beat the crowd. The sushi was amazing! We loved the desserts as well! The restaurant was quaint and the staff was very friendly. For our trip to San Francisco, we voted it the best restaurant while we were in town. You will not be disappointed here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smiletex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic Sushi”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We loved this restaurant. The sushi was fantastic. It was fresh and delicious. It is small with a great ambiance. The waiter was friendly and helpful. The best part was the prices. For San Francisco it was very reasonable. If you love sushi don't pas this gem up. You will not regret it. My son has this sushi restaurant on speed dial and now we know why!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank janet d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakana also viewed

 

Been to Sakana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing