We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious dim sum!”

City View Restaurant
Ranked #85 of 6,030 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Reviewed August 25, 2016

We brought our firm here for a late lunch and it was the perfect thing to do. We were all very hungry and as soon as you sit down the carts of food start rolling in. Your food comes instantly! We were extremely satisfied with the food and service. The restaurant itself is nice for a business lunch for our group of 11. It's tucked away down a side sreet so you're away from the street noise.

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank 498imeldan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (558)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

225 - 229 of 558 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2016

Arrived early for lunch today anď pleased we did as queues were building up shortly after our arrival at 12MD. Service was amazing with Dim Sum trolleys arriving every few minutes with a great variety of tasty dishes. Would highly recommend a visit.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank FamilyG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

Have been craving dim sum like this for ages. Authentic, delicious food. My fave place to stop when I'm in the city. We went for lunch, but recommend getting there at 11:30 as there is a wait at 12-12:30pm. Plan to get amazing food, in and out of there within an hour.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Jackieosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 21, 2016

Oddly located just off the main China Town district and a little hard to find but worth the effort. The facility is very clean and the service was outstanding but all of this pales in comparison to the excellent food. Not only do I recommend City View for all of the above but it is also a fun place to have lunch with friends. Our experience was so delightful we retunred a few days later for another great meal.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank genecc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 21, 2016

I'll travel anywhere for great dim sum. So after doing a considerable amount of research, looking for great options in Chinatown, I found City View. Came in on a Saturday around 11:30AM and was seated right away but around noon, crowds started arriving, so go early to avoid the lines. Servers were friendly and there was a variety of fresh options. Some favorites: pork/shrimp shu mai, soup dumplings, steamed bao, pan fried shrimp and chive.
City View will definitely be my go-to dim sum spot for my next SF trip.

Check was $40 w/o tip and w/o alcohol.

Date of visit: August 2016
2  Thank JasperNYC13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed City View Restaurant also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to City View Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.