We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a group”

City View Restaurant
Ranked #94 of 5,645 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Financial District
Monterey
Level Contributor
135 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great place for a group”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

14 of us from work went for lunch. We had a table that easily accommodated us. We were able to hear our conversations without yelling, even widen the restaurant filled and there was a larger group next to us. We all had dim sum. It appeared that menu orders took a bit of time. If you want dessert, order it half way through because it takes a while to arrive. The price was a little above average but the quality and selection was very good.

Recommend:
Reservations
11:45 or 12:45 for lunch for convenience
Dim sum, menu orders took longer
Spinach dumplings
Shrimp spring rolls
Lettuce wrap

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2mchfn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    151
    32
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Outstanding Dim Sum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

City View came highly recommended by our concierge. We have enjoyed dim sum at several other places in San Francisco, Chicago and Washington DC, but this was the best we have ever had. While I agree it is a little on the pricey side, the restaurant's cleanliness, decor, layout and service are top-notch.

As others have mentioned, it is best to arrive as close to opening as possible as this place is quite popular. Try not to take too much from the first couple of carts because the selection keeps getting better! Some stand outs for us: Turnip Cake, Taro Puff, Crab Claw, Chicken Feet, Shrimp Dumpling, Stuffed Bell Pepper and Walnut Prawns. Delicious!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roguebj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Dim Sum.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Restaurant attracts many locals, and caters to large groups. Its only open for lunch, 11-230p, and gets packed at noon. the food is superb, fresh, and comes quickly. We frequent Dim Sum all over the world, this is some of the best.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank bizziemother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“fresh and delicious but pricey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Everything here was very fresh and tasted very good. Come early to avoid queue. We arrived at 11.30 on Saturday and had no trouble getting seats. Beyond 12.00 the place was full and line started to form outside. Do not order the special just stick to classic dim sum (order from carts) and you will not regret. Service is under average, we requested for sauces twice and did not get. Ambience is modern and very clean.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JennyTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Terrific dim sum experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

My son Alex had never had dim sum so I decided to take him to City View, which was very close to the Omni, where we were staying. It's a subdued and comfortable place, nicely lit -- its in a big open-window storefront, like an old fashioned store. The dim sum is terrific, really well prepared and tasty.

For those who haven't had dim sum, this is basically lunch, with lots of different bite-size treats brought to your table. You get a card that's left on your table, and trolley carts are rolled over to your table occasionally offering you platters or baskets of dumplings or other bite size treats. If you take something your card is stamped and that's how your final bill is calculated. The tricky part is, the items are not priced when they come to the table! So if you're on a budget, you might want to skip City View.

One piece of advice is to pace yourself -- Alex and I kept taking one thing off every cart until we were full, and only then did the egg rolls come by! This is easier said than done, as the ladies who push the carts around get a little grumpy if you don't take something off their carts.

Finally, remember this is lunch only, and the place closes at 2:30. For dim sum it's a bit pricey, but I thought it was worth it and Alex seemed to think so too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travels_with_Alex63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City View Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to City View Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing