We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best.”
Review of Foreign Cinema

Foreign Cinema
Reserve with OpenTable
Foreign Cinema is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #94 of 5,738 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Mission District
Cross street: 21st St.
Transit: MUNI: 14 Mission bus; BART: 16th & 24th/Mission station
Campbell, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Simply the best.”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I've spent many blissful mornings that morph into afternoons here. Every single thing they do is infused with incredible style and beauty. I don't mean to insinuate that style is all they've got, either; the menu is impeccable. Drop everything and go there. Now.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melinda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    238
    104
    32
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fab dining under the tent”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Glorious small plates that we shared were more than enough to satisfy. Don't miss the incredible desserts! B&W movies play on the outside wall even as you sit protected under a 25-ft clear tent. Excellent bar menu

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ssaurage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very cool and very good”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Went for Sunday brunch and it was awesome. Although it was very crowed service was impeccable and food quality superb. Very imaginative menu and tterrific eclectic wine list. And very reasonably price for the quality.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lilbanjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

On a recent visit to San Francisco we took friends for dinner at Foreign Cinema to say thank you for putting us up. And we could not have been happier. The meal was definitely the best I have had all year – at least! Brilliant atmosphere, great service. My duck with apricots was simply delicious. And the nicest surprise was the bill. In London the money we spent would have afforded at best an indifferent night out – here we were treated to a dinner that is as good as you could hope for anywhere in the world. If you are in San Francisco you have to go. And apparently brunch is even better!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The coolest restaurant I have ever been to!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We took our friends (who are newlyweds) to Foreign Cinema for dinner. When we got out of the cab, we were a little worried, as it is tucked away and not readily apparent. But luckily, we tracked it down (we also had reservations). We asked to sit outside (excellent choice - they have heaters if its cold). While quite pricey, the food was wonderful. But more than the food, the ambiance was the most interesting and fun restaurant I have ever been to. We thought it was a sign that our friends were from Japan and the film they were showing the night we dined there was Jiro Dreams of Sushi. While my husband and I had to read the subtitles, our friends could dine and enjoy the movie. And our waitress was great. It was a perfect evening. And what an incredibly impressive and unique evening to treat our friends to!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foreign Cinema also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Foreign Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing