We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic sushi”

Sanraku Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #63 of 5,712 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic sushi”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Me and my boyfriend had dinner here one evening as it was just down the road from our hotel.
We ordered a sushi lover platter which came with 6 pieces of nigiri and 6 california rolls. These were all delicious, I especially enjoyed the rolls.
My boyfriend ordered beef teriyaki which was lovely.
We shared the mochi dessert with green tea ice cream, which was nice if a little sickly.
We thought the meal was good value, as rice, salad and miso soup was also included.
It's only a small restaurant though, and it can get a little busy and crowded. We were lucky to arrive just before the rush.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhiannon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    409
    303
    72
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Takeaway”
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Just had take away, California roll was nice. The only reason i give ita rating of 3 is because it is much more expensive then Australia ($7usd compared with $3aud) but I'm sure we will go back, looking the food coming out if the kitchen made me want to sit down!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Japanese food”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

There is a good reason that Sanraku is busy every night. The food is excellent and great value. The combo meals are really good, a combination of sashimi or sushi with a main entree. The menu offers a very good choice of dishes and costs were very reasonable. The food was served nice and hot and the overall service was excellent. Best to make a reservation if possible.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank UKExpat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent Sushi”
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our meal at Sanraku. Appetisers were very nice and sushi was some of the best we've had, though some items were rather expensive. Nice atmosphere and on the whole very pleasant staff.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PabMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood, staff greets you like old friends.”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We have been visiting Sanraku every year for last 8 years during our visit to SF.
The service has always been quick, friendly and welcoming, now to the point the staff remembers us and greets us as old friends.

There is often a line to get in as their sushi is excellent, the seafood fresh. The chefs are slicing the seafood right before serving, unlike other restaurants, where the fish is sittin pre sliced for hours before it makes to the guest.

Our favorites are uni, anago, unagi, ...and the list can go on as every night we go there we order different nigiri and so far have not been let down.

Higly recommended is their taiseki- 7 course meal that is prepared upon a reservation.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boleslav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sanraku Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Sanraku Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing