We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment”
Review of Schroeder's Cafe

Schroeder's Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Schroeder's Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,253 of 5,693 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: German, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Financial District
Kfar-Saba
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The soup, side dishes and beer (Check beer) were OK, but the different sausages were terrible.
Even with the live German music the atmosphere was sad.
At the same price better to go to a "regular" restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Noanirtal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    39
    24
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible”
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

So disappointed, I didn't even want to go in but husband fancied the beer. Waitress was so stroppy until of course the bill arrived. We ordered the sausage platter, it was lukewarm when it arrived, freezing within 2 minutes. I hated the place. No wonder everybody else was just drinking, out of boots!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Food, Big Beers”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stopped in for a good German authentic experience and it didn’t disappoint. Four tables in was a table of younger German guys playing a German card game. Décor was excellent. I came to find out that Schroeder's has been in the bay area since the late 1800’s, so it has a rich history. As far as the food, I normally get the same dish at every German restaurant I go to, the goulash, in order to compare. This one rated second in my book as excellent. Good selection of German beers with various sizes. Even boots.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sportscierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
133 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Love the boots”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is an authentic German restaurant in the Financial District. Actually, as the menu explains, a Czech family now owns it. This may explain why, in addition to some fine German beers on draft, they also have some Czech beers. And only Czech beer is better than German beer. They also serve beer in "boots" - a humongous glass of beer. There were three sizes -- 42 oz, 84, and 104. 104 oz beer? Wow. But there were tables with folks drinking them. Friday night the place was packed and we just had a beer. The next night it was much calmer and we returned to eat. The food was fine and calling it overpriced misses the mark -- EVERYTHING in San Francisco seems to be expensive. We found it a fine place to eat and drink with tons of atmosphere and good service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Betsy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
Level Contributor
211 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Didn't even eat here”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I gave it 3 stars because we didn't even eat here. We sat down, looked at the over priced menu and left. Even the board specials were very high. I know SF is expensive, but for what this was it was overpriced. i've eaten at other restaurants in SF so I know what prices should be close to.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schroeder's Cafe also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Schroeder's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing