We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“get there early!”
Review of Chez Maman

Chez Maman
Ranked #206 of 5,693 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“get there early!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

9 counter seats and 4 table seats (plus 4 outside) explains why for this GEM of a French bistro. location is far from tourist areas, but the mussels and steak frites are worth it. Watching staff turn beautiful food out of a shoebox is fun, too. Not expensive, has neighborhood vibe. A real "joint" to write home about.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    45
    14
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shorewood, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Chez Maman in HayesValley”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Surprisingly and pleasantly surprised to get a table when we arrived about 6:15pm on a warm Saturday night. They don't take reservations, a small intimate place and all things are equal here: there's the casual drop in folk (like us), theatre goers, and really laid back folk. This is a very busy bistro with an eclectic menu mostly French with paninis, quesadillas and burritos thrown in.
I had the smoked salmon crepe. .It's made with buckwheat flour, making the light crepe a beautiful brown, and there was no skimping on the salmon. The salad on top of it was perfect and added to it for a more filling meal, albeit light. My mate had the lamb and it too was amazing. It came on two brochette skewers with lots of local vegetable and couscous. Not to miss an opportunity with dessert, I had the "Pain Perdue" (think French toast, more creamy inside which comes to my mind as bread pudding)..coated in cinnamon with fresh berries and chantilly cream. Heaven! The man had a berry and creme fraiche crepe, he declared it also wonderfiul.

Huge menu, great for all types of eaters. Great selection of wines. I want to go again tomorrow night!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KMcT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superbe!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This neighborhood haunt is terrific. Authentic French cuisine in a casual, diner style atmosphere. Always a great play list. Always great food. Go for the burgers, bo for the steak frites, or go for the roasted mahi with sauteed seasonal veggies. OMG. Crazy good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rose d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Truly a Gem”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Came to this place a few years ago, fell in love with it. Small and basic, but the food is amazing. The owner is French and has passion. We took friends and they loved it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was easily my favorite restaurant we dined at while in San Francisco. The services was great and the food was amazing!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hamil249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Maman also viewed

San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Chez Maman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing