We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dim Sum star”

Yank Sing - Stevenson St.
Ranked #90 of 5,693 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: SoMa
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Dim Sum star”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Dim sum does not get any better than this. And great service - you just name what you want and BAM there it is. (Bring lots of $ - not cheap). If you are a dim sum enthusiast, this is a MUST. The only Micheline rated dim sum I know of.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Scharfster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    211
    68
    26
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Level Contributor
174 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Top quality Dim Sum - atmophere like in Hong Kong”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We there for lunch on a Saturday. The place was packed, long lines of pepile waiting for tables, noicy and full og the smell coming from the trolleys driving around the restaurant full a wide selection of authentic Dim Sum.

This may not be to everyones taste as it is somewhat chaotic but that is how w Dim Sum serving should be. Some may also find it strange that there are no menus but that is how i should be too- ask for whatever you think look good if you do not know what the different Dim Sums are called.

I will return to Yank Sing as soon as I can. Maybe it would be a good idea to go on a weekday if you have never tried ab authentic Dim Sum serving. It is usually far less cowded and the chaos is less.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DenmarkDanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Delicious Dim Sum!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

It was my husband who wanted to eat here, but I was a bit skeptical because I heard from some people that the place was a bit overpriced. Anyway, we had a lunch here and it was great!

What was very nice in Yank Sing was that the service was fast (just like a good dim sum restaurant should do) and there were good variety of dishes. Concerning the price, it was not bad at all. We paid 90$ for 4 of us.

Here are the ones I recommend: Potsticker,BBQ pork bun, Shanghai Kurobuta Pork dumpling(delicious!), Shrimp dumpling...I have to go back there again!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Louloulechat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Too Noisy & too expensive”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I've read the reviews and heard from my friends about this place being the best dim sum in the Bay Area. I was so excited to go and made reservations at noon on a Sunday. We were on time but still had a 20 minute wait. The place was extremely crowded and very noisy. They sat us at a table for 2 that was so small it barely fit the small plates with condiments. They were slow to take the used plates away. The server's were rushed and it was hard to hear them explain the dish over the noise. I thought most of the dishes were good but none great and we tried 8 different ones. The prices are high and most servers don't know the prices. They seat people out side the restaurant too so there is no relief from the noise. If you know exactly your favorite dishes and only get those it might be worth it to take out. Otherwise I have had better service, prices and ambiance in Oakland.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clancy-Clan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestavia Hills, Alabama
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Chinese Urban Setting ind Landmark Location”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Went Saturday for lunch and stayed for two hours Very busy and efficient setting with excellent,friendly help. Various dishes to satisfy all tastes and explanation given when requested the duck and fish were expertly done and delicious .several dessert choices and great teas.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JuanFra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yank Sing - Stevenson St. also viewed

 

Been to Yank Sing - Stevenson St.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing