We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Dim Sum EVER” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yank Sing - Stevenson St.

Yank Sing - Stevenson St.
Ranked #62 of 5,626 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: SoMa
United States
Level Contributor
130 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best Dim Sum EVER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Love this place and make a point of stopping in for brunch or lunch EVERY time I go to SFO. I prefer the Stevenson Street location because of the terrace, when weather is warm enough I sit outside.

I always make sure to come with an empty stomach! I can usually do a pot of tea and four or five dishes. My typical bill is between $35 and $50. But... I don't have to fly to China to eat authentic and delicious dim sum!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MsMMiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    206
    64
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Dim Sum!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Lots of variety, very good food, good service. Just a little pricy, but worth it! The service is very good and the wait staff very professional. We love the soft shelled crab. Yum.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MBurch310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
293 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Dim Sum You Only Dreamed About”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We just had breakfast at Yank Sing, as they opened on Sunday. Seated promptly and pleasantly, at a table for four, even though we were only two.
Rolling carts of Dim Sum are plentiful and frequent. Servers are efficient and very nice.
Food is last meal quality - steamed pork buns are best ever. Peking Duck buns are awesome. Pork dumplings, with broth inside, explode in your mouth - yuumm. Tea was excellent.
We've been to China four times and never had Dim Sum that approached this quality. Don't miss it. To borrow from the Michelin Guide Three Star criteria - "Worth a Journey!"

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Sublime dim sum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Miniature Peking duck pancakes. 'Nuff said. Priciest dim sum in town, but so worth it! I indulge in at least one wonderful lunch here whenever I'm in SF, and its location in proximity to the burgeoning attractions of SoMa just adds to its appeal. The Stevenson Street location is not as attractive, but is easier to get into.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
111 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great food at a price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

The food is very, very good. Incredible Dim Sum. However, the prices add up quickly, and I have always been a fond supporter of Mom-and-Pop type places that serve cheap, delicious, random, ethnic food. Yank Sing is not this type of place, and we quickly racked up over 100$ for 3 people. Be careful, as the people going around with the cars will pretty much shove things onto your table, for which you will pay.
Overall, though, if budget is not really an issue and you enjoy eating surrounded by the business jetset, try Yank Sing.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank circustiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yank Sing - Stevenson St. also viewed

 

Been to Yank Sing - Stevenson St.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing