We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easy Going”
Review of Daily Grill

Daily Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Daily Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #124 of 5,665 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: Contemporary, American, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Union Square
Cross street: Powell St.
Transit: Three blocks from the Powell Muni Bart station and the 38 Geary
Description: Conveniently located one block from Union Square near the Westin St. Francis, Daily Grill is a moderately priced steakhouse that features classic American dishes made from scratch. The extensive menu features timeless favorites and unique preparations to suit all tastes while providing unrivaled hospitality and stellar service. In a comfortable, yet upscale environment, Daily Grill serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The bar is a favorite stop for Happy Hour seven days a week, from 3pm - 6pm, where craft beer and hand-crafted cocktails are paired with eclectic appetizers. Modeled after the great San Francisco grills of the '30s and '40s, it is an ideal spot to dine or drink while shopping, enjoying a night out or for a great meal before a show.
Kingston, Saint Andrew, Jamaica
Level Contributor
129 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Easy Going”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Not sure what to expect, we settled in to two tables with a view of Geary Street. I had the crab cakes, and was careful to ask before if this was going to be loaded with flour and bread crubs I was assured no. My sister had the talapia, served over a brown rice. The fish was wonderful and delicate, the brown rice well done and the sauce it was served in left it feeling like a nutty risotto. I truly enjoyed the crab cakes, no flour or bread crumbs here, wonderful bits of crab. My dish also came with shoe string fires. Nothing soggy or feeling like it came from a frozen bag. It was a good starting meal for our visit to SF. It was a few minutes walk from our hotel. If you are also in Union Square take a few steps up and try this one.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    534
    171
    53
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good Bar, Good Food, Good Wine List”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We decided to eat here as it was close to our hotel and we didn't fancy venturing very far having spent the day exploring the city from Lombard St to Haight Ashbury, and hitting the shops round Union Square and Market Street.

Had to wait for a table, but enjoyed a drink while people watching in the bar.

The food was very good, with portions on the large side. I had crab cakes to start, which was becoming a habit! The pork chop I had for my main course was excellent, juicy, succulent and very tasty. A very nice bottle of Sonoma Pinot Noir went down well too.

Busy, bustling restaurant with good service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rikwhitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good solid breakfast”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We had the Belgium Waffle, sides of eggs- (any style), toast coffee and orange juice. The servers were very accommodating- they had no problems in splitting a Belgium waffle amongst the children. The orange juice despite stating "freshly squeezed" on the menu is just bottled! Food was great, very filling, and the service was efficient.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EverydayMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good flank steak”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Wife and I were staying at the Monaco hotel for our anniversary. We pasted the daily grill several times walking to union square. We had no problem getting a reservation about thirty minutes in advance. We were sitted right away

We didn't like the first talbe they offered due to it being two inches from the person eating next to us. The hostes was nice and offered a better table. While sittibg ac taller older manager with a goatee yelled at us like one of his employees. The hostes appeared very afraid of this manager. Almost left but stated

Had grilled artichoke which was on special. Tge artichoke was not seasoned at all and was the worse I have had. I had the flank steak which was good. They served it with a side of head of broccoli. My wife had the filet medallions, which tasted like chicken marsella.

The manager pushed my rating from a four to three.

Helpful?
Thank USESTATE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant close to Union Square”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Came across this great restaurant just off Union Square while we were wandering around looking for a place for dinner! The service was fantastic. The waiter was very attentive. The menu was varied and catered for all tastes. The portions were very decent! The food was fresh and was cooked to ordered. Would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone going to San Francisco who wants great food at very reasonable prices!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Imeldac10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daily Grill also viewed

 

Been to Daily Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing