We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, nice atmosphere”
Review of Daily Grill

Daily Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Daily Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #129 of 5,664 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: Contemporary, American, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Union Square
Cross street: Powell St.
Transit: Three blocks from the Powell Muni Bart station and the 38 Geary
Description: Conveniently located one block from Union Square near the Westin St. Francis, Daily Grill is a moderately priced steakhouse that features classic American dishes made from scratch. The extensive menu features timeless favorites and unique preparations to suit all tastes while providing unrivaled hospitality and stellar service. In a comfortable, yet upscale environment, Daily Grill serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The bar is a favorite stop for Happy Hour seven days a week, from 3pm - 6pm, where craft beer and hand-crafted cocktails are paired with eclectic appetizers. Modeled after the great San Francisco grills of the '30s and '40s, it is an ideal spot to dine or drink while shopping, enjoying a night out or for a great meal before a show.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have eaten here on two recent trips. Food very good, setting and atmosphere great. Bar really good. There were 9 of us on last trip and the service though friendly was incredibly slow. Waited 25 mins for our first drink so spoilt it a bit, it was Saturday and they were busy but then get more waiting staff. Would go again as food good and has a nice spacious feel inside.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank judith_hooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    534
    171
    53
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hofheim am Taunus, Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Quantity rather than quality”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We had a recommendation to try this restaurant when we visited San Francisco. So we tried it for dinner and breakfast just to get the best picture we could.
I guess overall this restaurant is not too bad but not really value for money. Unfortunately it seems to me that american cuisine consists of very varied possibilities, but the concern is that large portions are more important than quality. I would rather see smaller portions for a few cents less
than every second guest going out the door with a doggie bag (does anyone actually do anything with this food?) but this is a generality and not specific to this restaurant.
So, the special that my wife had (meatloaf) was excellent, the starter calamari was also good but too much to eat. I had onion rings as a starter which were abundant but not very good. My main meal was moroccan chicken which was dry, bland and not very warm. I have nothing against vegetables al dente but those on our plates were just washed in warm water.
Two days later we tried breakfast there with our daughter and it was typical american fare, bagels, lox (pretty good) eggs bennedict (my favourite) plus all the other goodies on offer.
Facit: if you want large portions and are not worried about paying for things you are probably not going to eat but do not particularly care too much about the quality or value for money then this is as good as any other "typical" american diner. The atmosphere and ambient is good and the waiting staff also are quite attentive - but I won't go into my feelings about the progression of gratuities over the last few years.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good lunch near Union Square”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Attending a conference at the Westin St. Francis, I made a quick walk across the street to the Daily Grill for lunch. Sat at a table in the bar area with the hope that I could order quickly, get served, and get back to the conference in an hour. My attentive server Liz got our drinks in a flash and put in an order for calamari. We ordered a main course and everything was delivered as fast as can be. The calamari was quite good (maybe not the best I have ever had, but still very good) as was the Southwest taco salad and the angel hair pasta with chicken meatballs. The portions were reasonable for lunch and tasty. We were in and out in no time. I recommend the Daily Grill for a comfortable and inexpensive lunch in San Francisco.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Texas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Outstanding Lunch”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife and daughter had salads, and I enjoyed just about the best BLT ever! The restaurant has a warm, friendly atmosphere with a pub-like setting in the front. A very lovely dining room is off the front seating. Our waiter was outstanding, personable and his pride in the Daily Grill and his work were evident. I would definitely commend this restaurant for lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FRHolmes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Late night dinner stop.”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stopped in here late on July 4th after the fireworks! Orderd a pasta dish, some fried shrimp appetizers. Friends ordered some other stuff and everything was very tasty. Staff was very friendly and helpful even though it was late. They have a full bar as well.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jode1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daily Grill also viewed

 

Been to Daily Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing