We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Italian” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fino Bar & Ristorante

Fino Bar & Ristorante
624 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-8222
(415) 928-2080
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 5,307 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“True Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by the staff at the Kensington Hotel and it turned out to be a delightful dining experience. It is only 2 blocks from Union Square and open for dinner only. We went there in June, 2013 with our 18 year old granddaughter. Our granddaughter had a well prepared Pizza Margherite (just like we had in Milan, Italy). I had the Vitella (veal) alla Saltimoca which was served with freshly prepared kale and roasted potatoes; my husband had the Piccata de Pollo (chicken) Limone. All of the food was well prepared, hot when served and the seasonings were pleasant and not over whelming to the dish.We finished the meal with sharing a lava cake and spumoni ice cream. The staff was very friendly, very helpful in describing the menu items and attentive without being intrusive. We ate about 6:30 pm and the restaurant was already filling up on a Wednesday night.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlylep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We ( 2 adults and our 15yr old daughter) have just had a perfect meal at Fino. We arrived at about 1730 and got a table easily but by 1800 it was nearly full. The dress code was smart casual and looked to be many locals which is a good sign. It has a lovely atmosphere and our server Charles was great helping us with the menu and giving great recommendations which we took and the food was fabulous every course and the wine was very good. I felt it was very good value for money especially for the quality of the food. All the staff were very friendly and this was the best Italian meal we had eaten and the highlight of our Frisco visit. The only negative for some would be the service was a little slow between courses but this suited us as the food is quite rich and we enjoyed chatting and letting the food go down. highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anniepoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Put this one on your list!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Absolutely delicious meal, wonderful service and reasonably priced!! We all enjoyed our meals from the appetizers (bruschetta w/ artichoke hearts and sun dried tomatoes was incredible) to the salads to the main courses. Not one complaint and I would highly recommend this restaurant if you are in downtown San Francisco. We had reservations which I would also recommend so you are sure not to miss a great restaurant!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Best Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Very often servers automatically steer you to pricier items on a menu. I knew we were in good hands when our server, Charles T., recommended a less pricey Merlot over other choices on the menu. (Trefethen Merlot; amazing.)

His excellent service continued throughout a very busy evening at the restaurant. It was Friday night, July 5th, and he explained they had not anticipated the large crowd they had. He moved efficiently but never hurriedly through the crowded room of tables, taking time to answer questions, refill drinks, etc. His advice continued when asked for recommendations from the food options.

While the room was busy, tables weren't on top of one another, and the atmosphere was very pleasant. Had the service been less exceptional the food might be more the focus of these positive comments. The meal was very good, but the service was virtually incomparable.

FINO will definitely be on the schedule for our next visit to San Francisco.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelyellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Best pasta I've ever had - including dishes I had on a recent trip to Italy! Great service too! We were greeted promptly and seated quickly without reservations.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bravo1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fino Bar & Ristorante also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Fino Bar & Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#