We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the best Sushi”

Akikos Restaurant & Sushi Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Akikos Restaurant & Sushi Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #398 of 5,642 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Cross street: Mark Ln and Cluade Ln
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
172 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“the best Sushi”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Reservations are a must, but it was worth waiting the 3 days. (Be careful not to miss it, as there's no sign on it & we walked right by.) It's a tiny restaurant, so they are able to be VERY attentive to all customers. The sushi is impeccable, exactly as it should be. We finally tasted what a REAL California roll is supposed to taste like (with REAL crab). The pieces of sashimi were very generous, as were all the pieces of fish on the nigiri. They make their own yummy wasabi and have fresh flavorful ginger. And lastly, they keep the sake warm throughout the meal, which added to our outstanding experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank icjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    34
    7
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
95 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“I WANT MORE!!!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Walked right by the resto while looking for it based on what I thought I remembered of the address. Was expecting a sign outside... don't, no signage. Just a front that looks like an Irish pub. LOL

Chose Akiko's based on another site's reco from many locals (wanted to avoid the tourist traps).

Went off the menu + glad we did. The chef created a memorable dining experience that left us wanting more.

All I can say is FRESH. FRESH. FRESH!

We love sashimi and it's got to be fresh to really enjoy the taste of the fish. Akiko's had no problem delivering on that.

Service was amazingly efficient. Water was always topped off which is one of the key things for me in particular. The wait staff was attentive, always stopping by to see if our table needed clean-up or extra this or that. Professional all the way!

The hostess was great too. She accommodated our walk-up-no-reservation-table-for-3 request and made us feel welcome to what seemed like a locals only type sushi resto.

The only CON i can list for this place... the single stall uni-sex bathroom. You might need to wait in line to use it... so plan accordingly. :)

Highly recommend this place. Just loved everything about it. Dinner was highlighted by an order of their A5 Plus Wagyu beef topped with White Truffle. It wasn't cheap, but it was worth it!!

PS. Our main server, Alan, was PRO all the way! He really made our dinner a memorable experience.

TIP: Make a reservation!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank enjoyLIFE40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best sushi ever!”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We made a reservation after reading reviews online. The restaurant is very small, cosy and intimite; perfect for a romantic dinner. We arrived 10 minutes prior to our reservation so we had to wait a little bit, but were provided with water right away. The servers are very fast and friendly. The food is amazing. I have eating sushi at a number of restaurants and this is by far the best I ever had. We were the only tourists in the restaurant, which was nice aswell.

Do make reservations as they are very busy! Good sign ;-)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Excellent, Fresh Sushi”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

First, make a reservation. We made the mistake and tried to walk in; they are booked several days in advanced so call ahead to get. We were able to squeeze on to the reservation list the next night and what an excellent experience. Our waiter and the staff were very friendly and very customer service oriented. The ticket machine broke and the orders backed up, which we didn't really mind because we like taking our time at dinner. Regardless, they apoligized several times and gave us a complementary sushi roll to hold us over. I would highly recommend the sashimi sampler which included butter fish, hamachi, mackeral, flounder, salmon, and tuna. Very fresh!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank E000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great sushi place downtown.. Which looks like an Irish pub!”
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

You'd be forgiven for missing akiko's restaurant because from the outside it looks like a pub! But it's worth the trip in. I had tamago sushi (old school...), a warm mackerel entree and the sake avocado roll - all were lovely and all washed down with a white peach saketini. Pretty reasonable prices too. Recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonianBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akikos Restaurant & Sushi Bar also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Akikos Restaurant & Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing