We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Italian Bistro”
Review of Annabelle's Bar & Bistro - CLOSED

Annabelle's Bar & Bistro
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: SoMa
Cross street: Market Street
Transit: 1/2 block from the Powell Street BART station and many Market Street Muni lines.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good Italian Bistro”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Annabelle's is located just across the street from the Marriott Marquis, very convenient for a quick bite if your are tired and don't want to go far. It has a varied menu with reasonable prices. The Ahi Tuna Salad and Cesar Salad were very good. The wine and beer list is extensive. The service was slow but friendly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank conradowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    159
    44
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dania Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“My New Favorite Restaurant in San Francisco”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

My new favorite in San Fran is the Halibut with the Cauliflower Mash and the roasted capers. Each bite was better than the next, a beautiful blend of texture and flavors. All while sitting at a table in the window watching the people go by. Service was great and friendly, Pinot Gris was icy cold. Annabelle's always does it right. See you next time for sure.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great for drinks and food.”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Just down from our hotel, we visited the restaurant several times. Two people in our group rated their food (halibut) as the best of the week.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dania Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Service and menu”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

For a great meal with an equally wonderful ambiance, you must try Annabelle's which is located across the street on 4th from the Marriott Marquis. You will not be disappointed! Each time we are in San Francisco, we have to have at least one meal here! Always AMAZING!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Luis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, WA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Cauliflower mash? Surprisingly good!”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

As others have written this restaurant doesn't seem too striking from the outside, mainly due to the dated sign, but the posted dinner menu looked interesting and the white linen tablecloths and napkins gave the appearance of a nice restaurant. Once inside, you feel like you've walked into a bar with all the dark wood and noise of a bar, but once you tell the hostess you are there for dinner, you're whisked over to the dining room and at least for us, the bar noise wasn't all that bad even though we were seated on the wall right next to the bar. The hostess and server were both very friendly and helpful. The bread was delicious with a crispy crust, moist interior and just a bit of sea salt on the outside that was perfect; we had to order another round of bread just because it was so good. I had the Seared Halibut ($18) which is served with cauliflower mash, shelled snap peas, wild mushrooms, dill cream (very subtle), and fried capers. Cauliflower mash doesn't sound too appetizing, but it was surprisingly good with the way they mashed (or blended) the cauliflower and how they seasoned it. The peas, mushrooms and capers blended together for interesting flavors and complimented the halibut quite nicely. My wife had the Mixed Greens Salad ($11) with strawberries (very good!), balsamic yogurt dressing, pistachio nuts (really added to the flavor) and grilled prawns (really good; add $8, for a total of $19). She really liked the salad, and with the tasty grilled prawns felt that the salad made for a good dinner salad. Our vegetarian friend had the Margharita Pizza which had heirloom tomatoes (yellow & red), sea salt, mozzarella, and basil. It looked kind of flat or thin, but our friend declared that the pizza was very good and she especially liked the flavor of the heirloom tomatoes. My wife and our friend shared a dark chocolate ganache tart in a hazelnut crust with vanilla bean cream, ground pistachio and some type of sauce and declared it delicious. All in all, we all enjoyed our dinner and intend to try Annabelle's again on future trips to San Francisco.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RexTak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Annabelle's Bar & Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing