We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing as recommended”
Review of Tartine Bakery

Tartine Bakery
Ranked #1 of 117 Bakeries in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: Mission District
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Amazing as recommended”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Well, obviously this place is already super popular and had been recommended to me before but I had yet to go. It's not super convenient to get to and be prepared to wait. However, the food was amazing and in our two night stay, we ended up coming back again during our trip when we were at a restaurant nearby. We obviously over-ordered and stuffed ourselves so we could try several things. The banana tart was my favorite. The other thing that could bother some people is it's small inside and can be hard to get a table after you order. However, you can take it to go to avoid that problem.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank osidekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    592
    268
    107
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Avoid if your a Catalan/Spanish or french tourist”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We stayed some days in SF with some friends from Barcelona who live there. They really wanted us to try Tartine bakery. The guys woke up really early on a sunday morning to make the line of this bakery (YES! there is always a line). They bought 5 or 6 different items. The bill was 30$.
Now, in my opinion, the pastries were great! even very good, but nothing to compare to any in Catalonia or France (which are way better!). In my opinion the croissants I buy in my bakery for 1€ each are much better...
But on the other hand I understand that my friends love it so much! It is like eating at home (europe), which in the USA can be kind of impossible sometimes.
So... avoid it if you are a tourist, if your european and live there, you'll feel at home!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CRC30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJU
Level 6 Contributor
500 reviews
357 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Be prepared”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Yes, there is a line to get in, yes, the servers are a little snotty, yes, it takes 20 minutes to get a cup of coffee, but the ham ad cheese croissants and the almond croissants are well worth the wait. Be aware though, that if you go before 9:00am the menu is extremely limited - only bakery items, not sandwiches or bread

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BKK
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“worth queueing up for”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

a friend treated me to her favorite place and I have already recommended to many. The choices stare at you from the pastry case and then the menu already has your taste buds dancing. So fresh and delicious with the perfect cup of coffee to start the day. i will return to try lunch, the next time I am in SF.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NYC_to_BKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Don't be disheartened by the 30+ minute wait. The only problem here is being able to make a choice when you reach the front of the line. The pastries and breads at Tartine are some of the finest I've ever tasted. My personal favorite is the ham & cheese croissant, but you really can't go wrong in this place. I will go back every time I visit SF.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tartine Bakery also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Tartine Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing