We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the wait”
Review of Tartine Bakery

Tartine Bakery
Ranked #1 of 131 Bakeries in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: French, American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Mission District
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
136 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Don't be disheartened by the 30+ minute wait. The only problem here is being able to make a choice when you reach the front of the line. The pastries and breads at Tartine are some of the finest I've ever tasted. My personal favorite is the ham & cheese croissant, but you really can't go wrong in this place. I will go back every time I visit SF.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    561
    257
    106
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Great bread!”
Reviewed December 4, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The country loaf at Tartine is the main draw for me, though the Morning Buns and Ham & Cheese Croissants are up there, too!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikeT0theD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“go there early”
Reviewed December 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

You need to get there before 11 if you want to try their double chocolate au pain...they only make so many and then they are sold out...the morning bun is delicious as well...we got the chocolate souffle cake and that was delicious if you like chocolate!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank aznxgrl811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bread and more”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We went to Tartine bakery for the bread, but enjoyed the food and the company at the large communal table while we were there. The brioche bread pudding is not to be missed! We bought country and olive loaves -- yummy, crusty, sourdough.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Universaltraveler92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zofingen
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best desserts ever.....”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

For sweets, coffee and people watching can not be topped, at least not in SF. This place is a must when in SF.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tartine Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Tartine Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing