We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the Wait!”
Review of Tartine Bakery

Tartine Bakery
Ranked #1 of 117 Bakeries in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: Mission District
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth the Wait!”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

During a recent visit to san francisco we made the trip to Tartine not once, but twice!! There were simply too many things we wanted to try to fit it all into one visit. Each visit we were overwhelmed with the taste and quality of the products we tried. Our favorite? The banana cream tart (but really, you can't go wrong with anything you get!)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    590
    268
    107
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olathe, Kansas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best of its kind”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Each time we travel to San Francisco we have to wait in line for the pastries at Tartine. This time we sampled the Coconut creme tart, morning bun, shortbread cookie and croissants and they were all wonderful. This place is a must stop for your breakfast enjoyment!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth the long wait....”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Tartine Bakery was awesome. Totally worth the 45 minute wait at 8:00 am to get a several breakfast pasteries for my boyfriend and I. I loved the sugar roll and fresh bread pudding. the boyfriend also tried a savory item; it was some french baguette with cheese and other toppings...he enjoyed it a lot. I had a spinach and mushroom quiche, was quite tasty.
The one complaint I have is with the staff - they could be a bit friendlier if you ask me. A few were a bit snotty, and should learn how to smile. Sure it's busy everyday, but hey you signed up for the job. It smells like heaven in Tartine.....I would be smiling everyday.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmonkey800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Bakery and good coffee”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Always come here for food when visiting SF. I love all the pastries they offer. Very good coffee. Unfortunately always busy but the line move fairly quick

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Problemchild2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best Bakery!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Picked up some pastry for a dinner party. Just excellent, high quality, fresh shortbread. Worth the wait in line!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tartine Bakery also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Tartine Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing