We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”
Review of Tartine Bakery

Tartine Bakery
Ranked #1 of 118 Bakeries in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: Mission District
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This got pointed out to us by a tour guide and how glad we are it did!!
You wouldn't find it unless you know it's address as it has no name above its door! It's so good people just know about it! There was a queue out the door but it moved quickly and it gave us time to decide what to have!
We went for breakfast and had been told to try the almond croissant, it's to die for!! We shared that with a chocolate one and both were sssoooo good!!
Wish we lived in San Francisco and could go every week!

Helpful?
Thank Tuckenby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    570
    260
    106
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“best bakery in San Francisco”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The only down side to Tartine is how difficult parking can be in that neighborhood. But it's worth spending the time to make the trip. We have been there numerous times over the years, and their quality is unfailingly high. You can't go wrong. From decadent, warm bread pudding, well-structured, huge croissants, beautiful pastries and cookies, it's hard to choose. If you're in the mood for something savory, their pressed sandwiches are big enough to share, and Chad Robertson's bread is amazing. They also make great coffee drinks. If you appreciate and seek out quality bakeries, you won't want to miss Tartine!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ezee14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamassee, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not worth the trip”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Apparently a local hot spot. Small, crowded and stale food. Service staff were not helpful and my order was burned. I was offered a free replacement item but after waiting 30 minutes for the first order I chose a dessert and was underwhelmed. I kept wondering what their health department rating was. If you're looking for a truly "local" experience this is it but don't make a special trip.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Too much to choose from!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had heard from a store in the neighborhood that the bread was just coming out of the oven at Tartine, so we headed over. Expected a long line but only waited a few minutes. Had a hard time choosing just a couple of things. Decided on the Banana Chocolate Caramel pie and a Turkey Sandwich. Got a loaf of multi-grain bread, a couple of cookies and a latte also. It was all delicious. Pretty pricey but worth the splurge for not-everyday treat.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zummy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“AH-MAZ-ZING!!!”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Must see and try when your in San Fran. I highly recommend you try a couple desserts or whatever fits your taste buds and get it to go and walk to Dolores Park(2 blocks) away and eat it there on a nice day. The Bakery is busy but don't be intimidated by the line up it moves fast.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy-Bryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tartine Bakery also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Tartine Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing