We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hole in the Wall”
Review of Tu Lan

Tu Lan
Ranked #451 of 6,500 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch
Neighborhood: SoMa
Reviewed June 15, 2019

Small family run business. No frills, excellent food well prepared. Servings are very generous. It is a bit basic but the fare more than compensates.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 118 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2019 via mobile

We were looking for something quick to eat. Found this Restaurant. The staff was very friendly and the portions are huge. Reasonable price, defiantly worth it!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank franziska_148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2018

We were going for a show at the Golden Gate Theatre so decided to come here for dinner. Restaurant is nothing fancy but decent at least. Service is very good. Food here is excellent. Among the best Vietnamese restaurants I've ever tried. We had the imperial rolls which were crispy and peppery, lemon beef salad which was very tasty and light, and shrimp fried rice which was pretty generous with the shrimp and also tasty. Next time we are back in the area we will definitely consider it again.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank gnowhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2018

Fantastic food. Hole in the wall, nothing fancy at ALL, but the food absolutely speaks for itself - as well as the price!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank NathanielC257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2018 via mobile

Stumbled upon this spot with friends due to decent prices and want to try Vietnamese food. Lovely tasting food with soo much on offer. Portions are big too which satisfied us! We were drawn back the next day!

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank padraigmoran96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tu Lan also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Tu Lan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing