We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great price, great service”
Review of Tu Lan

Tu Lan
Ranked #527 of 5,737 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch
Neighborhood: SoMa
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food, great price, great service”
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We were a little worried about the "seedy" area Tu Lan was in but it's actually not that bad.

Ordered the fresh shrimp rolls, beef pho and dry noodles with barbecue pork/imperial rolls. We've had the dry noodles once before in Hanoi and perhaps it's just our luck but that wasn't very good at all. I'm glad we didn't let that stop us from trying it again at Tu Lan (afterall, Julia Child liked it!) as it's really tasty here - much better than what we had in Hanoi! Generally, very good Vietnamese food.

What really impressed me was the service though. At such a place, I wasn't really expecting any. We were offered free imperial rolls - cos we were waiting in the cold outside for 20 mins! They were giving out water to the people in the queue too. We waited for > 1.5 hours at Mama's and got nothing (food there's really good too though). So for a cheap little food place in the "armpit of SF" this is a really pleasant surprise. Kudos Tu Lan!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neuros18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    38
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best Vietnamese period! Come solo, with friends, colleagues or your spouse..it doe snot matter...you win!”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

OK...so you will NOT be dining in a 5 star restaurant, BUT it does not matter because the food and flavors more then make up for it. The spring rolls and the beef or chicken with mixed vegetables are amazing. You can never go wrong with the beef salad or the vietnamese shrimp fried rice OR the ten things in a pot or the beef with bamboo shoot and mushrooms. Yes...I have been here a few times, ok, more then a few...the food is THAT amazing and I am all about new and delicious flavors. Tu Lan is on 6th and Market in SF and it can be a bit rough looking, but I promise you that nothing will happen to you. Never jugde a book by its cover and this place will hold true to that statement. The price is ridiculously low and you get so much delicious food. You actually have to take the rest home if you want to eat all the food you are served in one serving. You have to have the vietnamese coffee and the Imperial rolls...you just HAVE TO because they are to die for. You can easily come in starving with 5 people...eat till you cant eat anymore...have drinks and dessert and pay $40-50 for FIVE PEOPLE!!!! If you truly enjoy delicious food and are on a budget or just want to enjoy a great meal and be adventurous..please do yourself a favor and go to Tu Lan if you are in SF.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SANFRANCISCOBRONX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Inexpensive, lunch counter”
Reviewed June 21, 2011

The setup is much like an American lunch counter. The service is fast and friendly but the food was just above average, however the prices are phenomenally inexpensive. Nice range of items on the menu. Be sure to visit before dark to avoid the night life that starts to venture out in that part of town.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thecarlhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Unbelievable prices for really great food.”
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Last time I had Spring Rolls and Beef with vietnamese pickled cabbage. Absolutely fantastic. With drink, just over $10. The area's not great but isn't particularly dangerous either. Tu Lan is only a few steps south of Market and a lot of people will be going to the same place you are. Enjoy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kdotsonSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One meal feed's two and sometimes 2 and a kid”
Reviewed December 26, 2009

This is a great find but it is at 6th and Market in a slightly edgy area. We always get the combination that comes with imperial rolls, pork kebab and noodles. Not a great atmosphere for dining in, but you can get it to go and take it to one of the many fabulous parks that Sf has. This is usually the first place we go after we check in. Diandra's for their St Honore cake is the second place we head to.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Giggee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tu Lan also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Tu Lan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing