We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really, Really Good Bargain”
Review of El Toro Taqueria

El Toro Taqueria
Ranked #1,262 of 5,665 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Fast Food, Spanish, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Mission District
Adrian, Michigan
Level Contributor
2,128 reviews
1,300 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 833 helpful votes
“Really, Really Good Bargain”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This place in the Mission District is a delightful little hole-in-the-wall establishment that provides a LOT of food for a very reasonable price. It has become a tradition with our CEO to take our group to this place during an annual conference we attend in SF. It gets us out of downtown SF to give us a look at another part of the city and also allows us to eat one business meal very cheaply. We took the subway from downtown to the Mission District and then walked the two or three blocks to this place on the corner of Valencia and 17th St. The exterior looked like a typical taco joint and the interior bustling with customers was nothing to behold. But the service was very efficient as we went through the line to tell the servers what we wanted on our plates. I had the seafood dinner which came with an ENORMOUS amount of food at a very reasonable price. My plate featured shrimp, tortillas, rice and beans. I also liked the fact that I had the option for black beans rather than refried beans, which is not the case at all taco places. The seating was a little limited which was a slight challenge as we had a group of a dozen or so. But we managed nonetheless. Overall, this place provided a great option for an inexpensive Mexican- or Tex-Mex-style meal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    18
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A quick, cheap, tasty lunch ”
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

This is not a fancy restaurant for eating in, and the toilet is a bit gross (not the worst I've seen), but this certainly is 'fast food' at its best! The burritos here are delicious (I had the pork), quick and cheap ($10 gets you a hearty burrito and gives a small tip). Choose what you want on your burrito, and, as they are pretty big, eat half for lunch and take the other half away for later - the provide aluminium wrap just for this purpose. A good choice for lunch on the go.

Helpful?
Thank LyssM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tasty burritos in the mission”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Nice burrito joint in the mission district. Carne asade Burrito was very good and service was quick. Salsa bar was a great addition. Such good burrito places in The Mission, this one holds its own.

Helpful?
Thank Jayhawks1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great Taqueria”
Reviewed November 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Its a great place for Taco and burrito and has ton of choice. When I am on the go, I normally grab their 3 tacos deal for $7 and it does fill you up...

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Louie_Diep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“This is our go-to taqueria in the Mission”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We've lived near here for many years and tried most of the taquerias around. This one is my personal favorite. It's super clean and the food is fresh and yummy. My kid's fave is the baby burrito with spicy chicken and rice. Mine are the tacos with spicy chicken and all the extras. During happy hour they're only 2.50. You walk along the counter and tell the burrito maker what you want: rice (regular; vegetarian); beans (black; whole; refried); meat (lotsa choices); salsa (the hot is really hot! I get half hot and half mild); lettuce; tomatoes; guacamole; sour cream (neither of us likes that); and others. They also have different tortillas like spinach. The place is pretty humble with little tables and stools, but the food is great and the tables and such are clean.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SanFranciscotoLDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Toro Taqueria also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to El Toro Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing