We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
magic and performance art

We saw David Facer at the San Francisco Magic Parlor at the Chancellor Hotel, not knowing quite... read more

Reviewed January 18, 2015
Chicago-777
,
Chicago, Illinois
A REAL SAN FRANCISCO EXPERIENCE!!!

I was lucky enough to grab a ticket to the San Francisco Magic Parlor during my stay at the... read more

Reviewed July 13, 2014
daniel r
,
San Francisco, California
Read all 42 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around San Francisco
from $31.00
More Info
from $562.50
More Info
from $20.00
More Info
from $30.00
More Info
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveler rating
34
6
0
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
6
0
0
2
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 42 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2015

We saw David Facer at the San Francisco Magic Parlor at the Chancellor Hotel, not knowing quite what to expect. He presents a show on paradox, mixing nicely done basic magic tricks (linking rings, cards, coins etc) with performance art - he creates strange, colorful characters (a mechanical man with very cool lights, a "dream dweller", etc) while engaging the audience (it's a small room and he invites several to help with the tricks). He is very likable and skilled and we enjoyed the one-man show.

1  Thank Chicago-777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, Owner at San Francisco Magic Parlor, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2015

Hello Chicago-777,

Thank you for your generous review. It has been a dream of mine, since childhood, to perform magic for all my life. Its people like you who remind me that I am on the right track. Thank you for believing, "Impossible is NIOT a word...."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

I was lucky enough to grab a ticket to the San Francisco Magic Parlor during my stay at the historic Chancellor Hotel in Union Square. Walt Anthony's unique production was unlike anything I've seen before. His genuine presence blended history, magic and theater to create a truly memorable experience. I was captivated throughout the show as Walt uncovered mystical origins of the great city of San Francisco. Even native audience members were enlightened by secluded facts told by the Magician. I highly recommend this show!

P.S. Be sure to interact with the hospitable Mr. Walt Anthony post show as he will compliment your next visit as he did mine!

Thank daniel r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This was my first time seeing a magic show. I did not know what to expect. The room that this took place in was very small and private, and felt a little cramped. Once the show started, I stopped thinking about that. There were several magic tricks done throughout the show, but I liked how some were very subtle. If you don't pay attention, you might not notice some of the tricks. The stories were neat, but I am not much of a history person. I liked how they were intertwined with the show, and it definitely was not too much for me. My favorite trick was the last one- HOLY COW!! I won't spoil it by saying what he did, but WOW!! I liked how audience members were chosen to participate, and how each participant received a little star. (I was not chosen, so I don't know what they got). It's fun to see random people participate, and their reactions. During intermission, because it was an anniversary, cake was shared with us. Yum!! That was a fun treat. At the end of the show, we were given a little momento as well. I like things like that.

Thank LieslKaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

First off I have to say that Walt is amazing! I have lived in the city for a little over a year now and kept hearing about this show. Many of my friends have went and I finally couldn't stand it anymore. I decided to give in and check it out. The event is located in the Chancellor which is a very nice place. The actual show is located in the restaurant which has an amazing atmosphere! I will have to eat there sometime! Walt dazzled my date and I with Illusions and insane stories about the city. I love San Francisco! And I think that The Magic Parlor just made me love it more!!!!

1  Thank Bryce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I took a group of close friends to the San Francisco Magic parlor last night. Walt Anthony weaves a wonderful tapestry of colorful history held together with magic and engaging banter with the audience. This is not a glitzy Las Vegas style magic show. Rather it is like the magic you would have seen more than 100 years ago in the cozy parlor of someone's home. The magnificent Chancellor Hotel, which will be 100 years old this year, is the perfect setting, and the showroom is transformed into that intimate parlor for an interactive theatrical experience unlike most others you can have today. You and your friends, as well as the other audience members, are performers on the stage with the magician/host. The magic happens close-up and right in front of you. Walt takes great care to get the historical details just right, bringing some of the most colorful residents from San Francisco's past to life. This show is equal parts of entertainment, ghost stories and educational content. My friends LOVED this experience. I think experience is the word, since what you get clearly transcends "just a show." You can't go wrong attending this wonderful piece of the San Francisco experience.

Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I just happened upon Yelp and saw all of the great reviews and thought why not. The evening was definitely a treat! How often can you learn about the history of a colorful, magical city while experiencing the magic firsthand. Do yourself a favor and see the show!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Robin0753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I was staying at The Chancellor Hotel last week and had noticed the hotel restaurant was gearing up for something that looked interesting. Out of curiosity I asked the front desk what was going on and they told me about the magic show. I registered for that evening's show right away.

When I arrived I was greeted warmly by Walt Anthony and his assistant at the front. Mr Anthony walked me to my reserved seat and kindly inquired where I was from, etc., and I noticed he was this way with all his magic parlor guests. The show itself was wonderful. I felt transported back in time, to the early days of SF, the storytelling was spellbinding, the magic tricks were very complementary to each tale. Great experience and memory. I'd totally recommend it to both young and older alike (clean and classy) and would attend again if I return to SF next year.

Thank you Mr Anthony!

2  Thank Behrcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

For a magic show that includes fun facts and rumors of San Francisco in an intimate and chillaxing setting, this is a great escape in the otherwise busy area to enjoy some cool tidbits incorporated with the illusions.

It’s wonderful for tourists to learn more about San Francisco in a storytelling way, especially such as the “Big” Alma Spreckels that is standing at top of the Dewey Monument right in the center of Union Square, also right across from the hotel.

For locals, you will find just as much fun learning about the fascinating and interesting history, giving its residents a renewed sense of what cultures have been grown in the city.

Walt even provides a pen with its name on it and a booklet of historical figures he has mentioned during the show so you can look them up later.

His show lasted about an hour and a half, with an intermission for bathroom breaks and drinks at the little bar right outside of the transformed Luques Restaurant. The restaurant is a breakfast and lunch carpeted place and is transformed to a magical evening, filled with lovely music and dim lights flowing, and his mesmerizing and pleasant voice.

Thank TaminatorSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

One of the enchanting and truly unexpected treasures available in historic Union Square is The San Francisco Magic Parlor in the Chancellor Hotel at 433 Powell Street. The wonderfully entertaining Walt Anthony weaves a spell and takes us back a hundred years (when the Chancellor Hotel was the tallest building in San Francisco). He proceeds to engage our minds and spirits with amazing magic and antique tales of the City by the Bay in a unique theatrical frolic. Walt is a fine magician and a superb storyteller. This is a family-friendly (16 and over) show that should not be missed. It is charming, thought- provoking, and informative. Oh, and Walt even returns us to the present day before we leave. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

Thank Alexander M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

I made a reservation and showed up for the show to find out it was cancelled. I had other backup plans so I was not too disappointed. The lady at the front desk said that I could come back tomorrow night for free if I leave my cell phone number so I agreed. The next day the magician called me and deeply apologize and asked how many people would attend tonight. I said my wife and I and he said he would buy my wife and I a ticket. We arrived at the show and it was very entertaining. A matter of fact, my wife Loved it!!!! And that is the most important thing. She was so fascinated and entertained. This is not your typical magic show, it is theatrical entertainment with some magic and illusions mixed in. This is very unique. If you are looking for a typical magician standing up and pulling rabbits out of a hat, maybe this show is not for you. If you are looking for a great evening of great story telling and acting with great passion with a mixture of tricks, magic and illusion this is the greatest choice for an evening of fun for you. We even got a gift at the end of the show. I won't spoil the surprise of what the gift is. Don't miss out on this experience. The room only holds about fifty people or less so make sure you have tickets in advance. Our show was packed.

Thank Travelerdarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews