We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish it was better”

San Francisco Magic Parlor
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: All New 2015 Production in our 3rd Year! The San Francisco Magic Parlor's new production features magician David Facer. Journey deep into his "World of Paradox" and explore David's fertile imagination and creativity. In our third year the San Francisco Magic Parlor is offering new shows new magic, and a new ambiance while retaining the distinctive qualities that have made it a staple of the Union Square Entertainment scene. David Facer's shows combine theatre and magic performance-art. During this one-person show he is your guide into a make-believe land of Magic, introducing several of the eccentric and bizarre inhabitants of his fantastical world where "Impossible is Not a Word." David portrays five diverse characters in his "World of Paradox." Be enthralled by: Jack Winter and his Sideshow Sensations, Jakob the Mechanical Man with a Human Heart, the enigmatic Dream Dweller Nicolai Bayne, and magical prankster and adventurer Spellvin. Award winning magician David Facer conjures paradoxical mysteries at his fingertips. He has performed with Broadway legend Carol Channing, and entertains in nightclubs, cabarets, restaurants, and at private events. David has been showcased at the San Francisco Zoo, the Hyatt Regency, Six Flags, the Cliff House, and Twining Vine Winery. Time seems to stand still in our intimate Parlor conveniently situated within the historic 100 year old Chancellor Hotel on Union Square. The Parlor's gracious turn-of-the-century ambiance evokes the San Francisco of old. "Sidesplitting and heartwarming!" -Bread & Roses A spectacular and intimate one man show." -SF Bay Guardian "Just off Union Square, away from the bustle of the crowd, is a cozy and charming place..." -San Francisco Examiner
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wish it was better”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I am not not sure what other reviewers were getting by way of compensation for giving this show 5 stars...but it is not worth it at all. Walt sure tries, but the show is honestly pretty lame. The magic tricks are few and far between - interspersed with long drawn out stories of SF lore that seem like they were embellished by Walt's use of a Thesaurus or Dictionary to enhance his vocabulary.

I wanted this show to be better, I really did. That said, I would not waste 5 minutes of my time in SF to see this, let alone pay $40 bucks each to endure it on a Saturday night. Money is better spent seeing a local band or simply enjoying a quality drink or two in the evening.

Sorry Walt, but this show is old before it even gets going.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Wfishishome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walt A, Guest Relations Manager at San Francisco Magic Parlor, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We truly regret that you did not enjoy your experience at the Parlor. Not everyone enjoys the same thing. If you were so displeased with your evening I wish you’d let us know, we want satisfied patrons and would have refunded your tickets.

I believe it was unkind to suggest that our 4 and 5 Star reviews were the result of compensation, this is not the case I assure you. TripAdvisor screens each and every review to assure legitimacy.

We stress in our marketing materials that this is not a “traditional magic show,” but presents tales of San Francisco highlighted with magical happenings. We describe our Parlor as: A theatrical journey where tales of wonder and shadow unfold in a performance style that seamlessly blends classic storytelling with classical conjuring.

Your review seems harsh considering we’re proud and humbled to say we’ve been given over three-hindered positive comment cards during the first six-months of a successful run, however everyone is entitled to an opinion. I’m pleased that TripAdvisor encourages comments from venue owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    6
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So, you sip your cocktail in a cozy Belle Epoque Parlor...”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Walt Anthony is elegant and charming, and a consummate illusionist. His baritone banter whisks you back a hundred years or so- legends of San Francisco history and eccentric characters. The magic in mind-blowing! What a delightful way to spend an evening. This is a smooth ride in a time machine!

-V. Lazonga, Chicago

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank VLazonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Fun and Unique Entertainment Treat”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Magic Parlor is a truly unique and fun way to not only be entertained but to learn about the fascinating eccentricies that are so much a part of San Francisco's history. Walt Anthony is a superb magician, but he is also a spell-binding story teller. Frankly, I would have enjoyed listening to the stories even if they weren't accompanied by amazing magical experiences. If you're staying near Union Square, then this couldn't be a more perfect and convenient night of entertainment. A huge BRAVO to Mr. Anthony!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank dysny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A very pleasant evening”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I was staying at the Chancellor a few weeks ago and didn't know anything about the Magic Parlor until I arrived. What a fun evening. Walt transforms the Chancellor dining room into a period San Francisco parlor and makes you feel like a welcomed guest. Seating no more than 30 visitors, it is an intimate setting. Walt tells great stories of San Francisco characters, and accents each tale with some feat of magic. It's low key and fun. Spread the word - this performer deserves a full house every night. How nice of the Chancellor to offer this activity.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank nmsouthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
“A fun and informative magic show for adults!”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

If you are coming to SF, especially if you are planning on coming to Union Square, this show is a must see! Walt interacts with the crowd and shares his extensive knowledge of SF history while surprising and entertaining!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jessica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Francisco Magic Parlor also viewed

 

Been to San Francisco Magic Parlor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing