We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long wait, Hard to get to...but worth it!”
Review of San Tung

San Tung
Ranked #888 of 5,711 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Neighborhood: Sunset
Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Long wait, Hard to get to...but worth it!”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

San Tung is not in China Town, but this is probably the best Chinese we have eaten in a long time. The chicken wings are the greatest. I was full and just kept eating them. Just about every table ordered them. We also ordered the Black Bean noodles which were tasty and flavorful. Other good dishes were the green beans and steamed dumplings, pork and shrimp, and broccoli and beef.

While the food is excellent, the wait even at 7:30 pm was an hour. The restaurant is not easy to get and cabs are not San Francisco's strong suit. However, even with the hassle, this place is worth it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank mjacob1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    40
    18
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best chicken wings!!”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This was my first time here and a friend recommended to try the san tung chicken wings. It was sooo good, I recommend getting it done dry and spicy! It kicks it up the flavor. You can ask to have it mild, mod or spicy, but spicy is the best. The cold noodles is really good too. If you like chinese food, this is the place for you!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MCNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Best Potstickers in SF!”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I came across San Tung a couple of years ago and was never a big fan of Chinese cuisine until I experienced their restaurant. It is nestled in the busy area of the Inner Sunset and very easy to find. If you plan to eat here, good luck finding parking. It takes at least 30 mins to find parking nearby, best option the N-Muni.

They literally have the best potstickers and chicken wings (before my vegan days) in San Francisco, by far! If you're in the area, San Tung is the place to eat authentic Chinese cuisine! Bon Appetite!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NereB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Walking distance from CA Academy of Science in GG Park!”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

It was great being able to do this easy 10-15 min walk (each way) between the CA Academy of Science in Golden Gate Park to this highly rated Chinese restaurant. One good sign it has good authentic Chinese food is the presence of many Chinese customers even at about 1:45pm on a weekday! We had the shrimp and lobster sauce over rice lunch special and it was pretty good. Price was reasonable. We called in our order by phone and carried our food back to our car parked in GG Park to eat it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RevfromCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Not the friendliest place nor the prettiest, but who cares? The food was some of the best Chinese I've ever had. Hands down. Go during off hours to avoid crowds.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sethleger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Tung also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to San Tung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing