We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Neighborhood Gem - Best Crab Ever!”
Review of Thanh Long

Thanh Long
Ranked #287 of 5,711 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Sunset
Jacksonville FL
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“True Neighborhood Gem - Best Crab Ever!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to me by a couple sitting nearby at Joe's Stone Crab, Steak & Seafood in Chicago last March when both tables were enjoying stone crab. I was told, yes, this is wonderful, but for the very best crab, you must go to Thanh Long.
We were able to reach Thanh Long from our downtown hotel because we had a rental car. The taxi fare would be outrageous from the Union Square area, as it is almost at the end of Golden Gate Park near the ocean (near the Cliff House, past the Golden Gate Bridge). It was, however, worth the journey.
The restaurant was obviously filled with locals, although our waiter was proud to tell us that "people come from all over the world for our crab - it is the best!". Have to agree, although you must like seasoning, rather than just plain steamed crab with butter.
The Garlic crab is unbelievable - a huge, monster Dungeness crab, reasonably priced, dripping with garlicky browned butter "sauce"... and this one you pretty much have to do your own "cracking". This is the dish that made them "famous".
Next time I intend to try the Drunken Crab, which is soaked in alcohol - I believe Saki - and also sounds wonderful. It's all about the food - the crab specifically.
Once again, as with most of my S.F. Bay area reviews, the restaurant was loud - but in a happy way - lots of family celebrations. Very ordinary decor - a neighborhood place with a fantastic specialty. Do make a reservation - this is no place to arrive without guaranteed seating.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bernerlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    78
    15
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEST. CRAB. EVER.”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

You will not find a better place to eat crab anywhere else in SF. Expensive but worth every penny. All you need is a roasted crab and a side of garlic noodles. Don't bother with anything else. You'll be more than satisfied when you leave.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SFtraveler87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great Roasted Crab- Best during crab season!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Thanh Long and sister restaurant Crustacean, same owners. I highly recommend roasted crab with garlic noodles or rice. They have other dishes, but if you are from out of town, just go with Roasted Crab and Garlic Noodles. Go during crab season for the freshest and biggest crabs. All other times of the year are also good, but the crabs may be smaller and less tasty. On some weekends (friday, saturdays and maybe sundays), they have lobster salad- oh yes, please order this if you are a lobster fan!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edwin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Overrated and expensive”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Tasted Than Long crab many many years ago, on my first trip to San Fo, so decided to see if it was as good as I remembered. This resto was supposed to be THE place for Than Long crab, with the chef having cooked for Vietnamese royalty before everything was taken over by the current regime. Went there before opening time but there was already a short line waiting at the door. We were ushered into the 2nd floor dining room, which had walls painted in garish colors, reminiscent of honky-tonk bars usually seen in movies about the Vietnam war. We had 3 types of Dungeness crabs and the garlic noodles and one other dish. The food took a long time to be served (not too many people yet at that time) and the wait staff were not very friendly. Food was good and tasty, but certainly not outstanding. Thought that it was quite overpriced, coming out at about $55 per head, with no wine or liquor. The place probably needs some competition to put it in its place...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ChaoSev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Best Crab and Garlic noodle”
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

As always their crab and garlic is one of the best in bay area. Restaurant ambience is good but a little bit crowded as always. Overall the food quality is excellent. Must try when visiting SF.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DRAGONO H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thanh Long also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Thanh Long? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing