We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious crab, but parking is at a premium” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thanh Long

Thanh Long
Ranked #317 of 5,626 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Vietnamese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Sunset
FINDLAY
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious crab, but parking is at a premium”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Went to Thahn Long on the suggestion of a friend who raved about the roasted crab. He was right on about that ... I had the drunken crab and it was outstanding! Also tried the roasted calamari and this was very tasty as well. As many other reviewers have noted Thanh Long is a bit pricey, but well worth it.

My only concern was parking. I drove around the neighborhood for 15 minutes before finding a spot on the street. Just something to keep in mind when you visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CHRIS B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    77
    14
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
93 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Special Occasion Place that was Wonderful.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

4.5 stars. Minus a half a star for the value of some of the items but overall a terrific night out.

This is a prize of a place. Comfortable setting, great service, excellent quality food and, while maybe spend-y, is worth a look.

For our New Years eve dinner there we four had reservations (needed given the size of the place) at 8 PM. We started the night with two appetizers:

1. Tempura Style Coconut Prawns (3/5). These were not so much the Japanese style tempura (corn starch batter) that you might have had but more coconut shaving encrusted large prawns. There were 5 and were good but, if I had to go again, not a must have.

2. Dungeness Crab Puffs (4/5). These were 6, small, perfectly deep fried, wonton-skin wrapped pillows of Dungeness crab filling that were so much better than the typical Crab Rangoon's that you might have had elsewhere. They came with two dipping sauces, the better one was the sweet mustard. This was a nice, if pricey, treat and a good start to the entrees.

Four entrees:

1. Roasted Crab (4/5): this smelled wonderful as it came out and was a large, already cut up Dungeness crab, with the carapace shell. It was meaty and perfectly done with the garlic sauce. Really glad we tried this. I like crab but it isn't a must have for me. My table-mates really like it. Market price was almost $40 each.

2. Shaken Beef (5/5): very tender tasty cubes of beef (not well done, if that's important to you) that was marinated in a lightly sweet sauce, served with potato cubes that had also been marinated in the same dark sauce and grilled; all of this served over tender bay greens. Delicious! Everyone liked this dish. The Rice and Roll's Hunan Grilled Butter Beef was very comparable (and less expensive) than this dish but this was still a winning dish. And I need to mention the tender-crisp cuts of sweet Vidalia (that's my guess) onions that were served with this dish, they were great in their own right and really added dimension to the beef.

3. Seafood Combination (Scallops, prawns, Dungeness crab) Fried rice (6/5): if there was one dish that stood out from all of them, it was this dish. A simple, (even unimpressive) looking fried rice dish that just blew people away with its wok-seared taste and awesome flavors. Fried rice, yes. But extraordinary? For a mere $16 Absolutely!

4. Colossal Royal Tiger Prawns (5/5): 4 large butterflied and perfectly grilled in the shell prawns that were served over a bed of their famously delicious garlic noodles. Yeah this was a splurge, at almost $10 a prawn, this was expensive but very (very) good and to be served over the deservedly vaunted garlic noodles, this was a plus. We didn't have to order the Garlic Noodles as an entree because of this, and the waiter was smart enough to understand this by ignoring our order for these Prawns PLUS a Garlic Noodle order. The prawns did have a tendency to stick to their shells, but they were perfectly done and marinated in some fantastic sauce to make them outstanding.

The Garlic noodles had the perfect consistency of Yee Noodles which gives them an extra nice bite and appear to absorb the flavors better. They are also pricey. The Garlic Noodles by themselves were $9.50 an order, which seems a bit high for lo mein noodles and garlic, but if they are Yee noodles, they would be more fairly priced. Everyone at the table loved these.

Three deserts:

Creme Brulee (3/5): this was an OK rendition of Creme Brulee, not bad but not up to the standards of the rest of the meal. Nothing really special.

Chocolate Lava Cake (5/5): Oh yeah! This chocolate delight was the size of a very small hockey puck served with a large scoop of vanilla ice cream over a pool of Grand Marnier & melted vanilla ice cream. It was pricey ($9) but oh so very wonderful to have that rich oozing chocolate goodness.

Fried Banana Fritters a la Mode. (5/5): 2 fritters (your choice of pineapple or banana) served with that same scoop of dense vanilla ice cream. Love, Love, Love this simple but wonderful desert.

It was almost a perfect amount of food for 4 with each of us full to the neck and almost giddy from the great food experience.

While the restaurant was crowded, it never seemed loud or noisy and the service was spot-on: unobtrusive, available, and very polite.

With tip we were at about $50 per person without drinks (which included one modestly iced tea for $2.50).

Loved it and would eagerly go again for a special occasion!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TanTien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“All Time Favorite Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

I rarely ever give places 5 star reviews, so you know I am serious about this one. I don't live in CA anymore and Thanh Long's restaurant is one of the places I miss the most. I went there regularly and introduced many friends to it; it became their favorite restaurant also! When one of my best friends introduced me to the roast crab and I took my first taste, people thought I was reenacting the deli scene from "When Harry Met Sally." Crab is my favorite food and I thought I had tasted it every way possible, but the An Family Crab recipe is one of the most delectable foods I have ever tasted. Don't forget to order the garlic noodles also!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Monique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
262 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Amazing Garlic Noodles!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Best garlic noodles in city with delicious roasted crab for the main dish. Service is prompt and quick.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalGoodTimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
93 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fingerlicking good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Went to Thanh Long to celebrate my friends' birthday ... both husband and wife have their birthdays close to the date when I visited. When I ate there in a few times before, it was excellent ... Drunken Crab, Roasted Crab, the Salt and Pepper Calamari, Softshell Crab and of course their Garlic Noodles. Sooo ONO(tasty), it has never been a disappointment.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hiloschild808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thanh Long also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Thanh Long? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing