We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint french restaurant in the heart of Russian Hill”
Review of Cocotte

Cocotte
Reserve with OpenTable
Cocotte is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #807 of 5,738 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Nob Hill
Cross street: Jackson St.
Transit: Cable Car (line hyde @ beach) stop across the street. #27 Bryant and #83 Pacific Muni buses
Description: COCOTTE IS NOW OPEN FOR BRUNCH! Sat & Sun 10am-2.30pm Cocotte restaurant merges the timeless essence of the traditional French rotisserie with avant-garde flavors inspired by Califonia’s farm-fresh palate.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Quaint french restaurant in the heart of Russian Hill”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Really enjoyed our dinner at Cocotte. I had the duck leg and it was perfectly cooked. My husband had the coq au vin and he really enjoyed it. We both had the carrot soup appetizer and it was delicious. The atmosphere is relaxed and the restaurant staff were very attentive. Our waiter was French and he told us which wines would pair well with our food choices. We ordered two different French wines by the glass and the pours were very generous. Our dessert was absolutely delicious. We had the caramel apple tarte.

Overall, I liked this restaurant. I wouldn't say it was excellent but it was very good and the staff made our experience pleasant and well worth the trip.

One final tip: The tables are very close together so you will hear the conversations of your neighbors. It's a tight space

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    46
    15
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Summit, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Pleasant ambience-good food”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Went as guests of local friends. European atmosphere. Service: prompt, attentive and agreeable.
Favorable comments about the mussels, duck and salads. My chicken was well-seasoned,
slightly under cooked, satisfactory, but I've had better. Wine prices seemed reasonable compared with other restaurants of similar quality. Noticed that they have at least one little alcove ideal
for intimate, if not romantic dining. Enjoyed it, but in my estimation, they just barely make it into the "very good" category.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fixed price dinner”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Went for the $40 prie fix dinner. The duck in the frisee salad was a bit too salty. The osso buco was fine, but not outstanding. The banana brulee was disappointing because the creamy part simply did not have the right texture. It is the first time I was ever disappointed by dessert! Service is good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank zenff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A Lovely Bistro Off the Beaten Path”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

As New Englanders who love any excuse to visit San Francisco, we're always interested in trying lesser known or formerly visited restaurants. We visited this place when it was Hyde Street Bistro and decided to give it another try. We loved it! It is cozy and friendly and the food is very good. We shared an app of mussels and both agreed, they were among the best we've ever had. Then on to traditional entrees: coq au vin and steak frites, both very good. Shared a tarte tatin for dessert. The wait staff were very helpful and accommodating. Will definitely return here on our next visit to San Francisco.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Very good food, a bit oversalted perhaps, with a relaxed atmosphere and decor. Duck 3 ways was excellent, as was rabbit ragu. The chef appears o love duck and the dishes are worth trying-- though the 1/2 a duck for $50 seemed a bit steep. If you're a tourist, convenient to a cable car line a plus. Servers were friendly and knowlegeable. Not a large restaurant so reservations reasonable.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zedd97511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cocotte also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Cocotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing