We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"French" bistro in San Francisco City Center” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sam's Grill

Sam's Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Sam's Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #473 of 5,626 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Financial District
Holte, Denmark
Level Contributor
172 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“"French" bistro in San Francisco City Center”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We were strolling and found a place which looked only slightly like a restaurant. An outside menu showed us that it really was. After stepping in it felt like stepping into a French bistro. Noisy, busy and waiters acting like the were French.... The food was not bad but nothing special. Nice wine list but the glasses ruined the very nice cabernet sauvignon that we ordered. The should definitely change glasses. Small with a wine unfriendly shape.
In a backroom I found like ten very nice private dining rooms. Very special place!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank hansmiddelburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    80
    34
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
163 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Just amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

I have heard so much about Sam's Grill over the years, and have now had the chance to visit on my last two trips. This has been a place of good luck for my last two business meetings.

The food is amazing, and the bread is great!

I like eating in the dinning room area, but the priviate rooms are nice too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
202 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A Classic Old-time San Francisco Institution”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Sam's is the classic San Francisco eatery. Only open on weekdays, it contains the private wooden booths and tuxedo dressed waiters that have all been around for at least 30 to 40 years. I love fried whole clams (not clam strips) and this is the only place I've been able to find them. They're to die for. Each table comes with a large loaf of San Francisco sourdough bread which in itself makes for a great meal. Frank, our waiter recommended "Franks salad" which isn't on the daily menu. It's a great fresh seafood and avacado salad and was perfect for lunch. The lunch and dinner menu is the same and everything is ala carte. The creamed spinach is also great as a side dish.

Helpful?
Thank BobD686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

My husband and I had a dinner at Sam's grill two days ago. We went there at the recommendation from the Marriot hotel staffs. The foods were average, big portions, standard tastes. We were surprised at the treatment that we received from the staffs there. As we are Asians, we waited long time before some one finally showed up to take our orders. We were shocked at the cleanliness of plates, spoons and knifes there, all looked not well cleaned, had some left over food stains. The worst thing was, the staff that served us, katy, did not even bother to come over to our table and asked us about how we felt about the foods, while she had time to chat, serve and ask every single white american customer there how they felt about their foods. From the beginning till the end, no words about whether we were satisfied with the foods we ordered. Extremely disappointing that racial discrimination still exists in a big city like San Francisco, really shocked that this restaurant still can survive this long in such a multicultural city San Franscisco. They should be ashamed of their discriminative attitude. We will never go back there and we will give our thoughts to our fellow asians or non white friends to not ever have foods there!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank shinju y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
156 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“A Classic Restaurant - Very enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Convenient, right in the financial district, and walking distance from Union Square. Sam's provides and old school atmosphere that is comfortable and welcoming.
Enjoyed the entire meal, starting from the very tasty and robust bread to entrees and dessert.They print a new menu each day and I had the Mahi Mahi suteed with Lemon & Capers, Rice and Vegetables. Family had the Petrale and another fish dish. All were top notch, plentiful portions. Very tasty, nothing overcooked.
Dessert of Pecan pie was spectacular.
Prices were quite reasonable for the quality of food, setting and service (dressed up wait staff).
Kept the menu as it provided a chance to catch up on Sam's Grill's history, and the very applaudable stance of never serving sea turtle, just the "mock variety".
With its seating set up, wouldn't see Sam's as a place to have farewell / welcoming luncheons, but a nice place for an informal date or lunch get together.
No reservations, so it is advantageous to be there early to avoid a wait.
Please note if you find this review helpful. Thank you.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PublicHealthRxDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam's Grill also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Sam's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing