We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Fun”
Review of Buca di Beppo

Buca di Beppo
Ranked #1,139 of 5,664 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: SoMa
Cross street: 4th & 5th Streets
Transit: BART Powell St. station
Description: Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.
Half Moon Bay
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Family Fun”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I cant say enough about buca de Beppo. Inside on the walls they have some original pictures of Famous people who have dine ect. & extremly Family oriented. When ordering make sure to let them know its for two people because the portions we recieved were huge... stuffed pasta and the lasanga tasted so good so fresh I fell in love with italian Food. Thankd Buca De Beppo for a wonderful Meal & Birthday.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    83
    61
    21
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A chain, but . . .”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

How can you not have a good time? Reasonably priced American-Italian food (pasta and red sauce, etc.), served in a warren of rooms that seem decorated like some Italian "Nonna's" place . . . even when they're busy you can amuse yourself looking at the walls.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank foolrex2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The service was TERRIBLE”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Just ate here Saturday night for a friend's birthday and I was shocked by the poor service!! We reserved a table for 14-18 and asked to be somewhere away from where kids would be (requested the Pope room, but did not get it, even though it sat empty the entire time we were there). The put us at a table set for 10, with chairs for 8 and then as people arrived they had to stand there and wait for a chair. The food was good, but nothing special (the Buca close to my house is so much better than this!!!!) and it took forever. We hardly saw our waiter, had to ask for plates after our appetizers came and kept having to go and find staff when we needed assistance. I will NOT be back!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucalove, Guest Relations Manager at Buca di Beppo, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Please accept our apologies for your experience. We have forwarded the information to management and would love to have someone reach out to you. Could you email us your contact information to mamacares@bucainc.com? Please make sure to include the location in your e-mail. We always appreciate opportunities to better serve our guests. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinleyville, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Family style dinning.”
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is a busy place. We had to decide whether or not we wanted to wait the 30-40 minutes until a table was ready. We decided to wait and were glad we did. Had not had a glass if Lambrusco is years, but did and realized what a fun red wine it is. We were seated in about 30 minutes. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. We settled on a couple of appetizers and a family dish of pasta. We all thought the food was great and the service was too. Juice and wine refills right away without asking. We really enjoyed he atmosphere and if the number of people eating there is any indication, the place is a hit.

Helpful?
Thank CinSav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“nice atmosphere, fresh salads, yummy pasta”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Perfect place for kids. Good, not too spicy food, good service, pleasant atmosphere. Lots of small rooms, so not noisy. our room had only a half dozen tables.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank CurlyGurl_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buca di Beppo also viewed

 

Been to Buca di Beppo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing