We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pukka!”
Review of House of Nanking

House of Nanking
Ranked #123 of 5,839 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Description: House of Nanking is a staple Chinese restaurant in San Francisco. Our recipes transpire from traditional recipes that have been updated based on our own experiences. We like to recreate standard dishes and give it a twist. At House of Nanking, one of the popular things to order is in fact not to order yourself! We are fantastic at putting together a dish for you based on what you like. Our menu is constantly changing and dishes are rotated around. Some of our dishes, however, are favorites and have been around for quite some time. These special dishes include: Nanking sesame chicken, fried potstickers with peanut sauce, shrimp packets with peanut sauce, house noodles and fried calamari.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Visited this restaurant after reading a recommendation in a guide book. Not sure exactly what to expect. The set up could be described as 'rough and ready', not particularly pretty, with bar supplies piled up adjacent to our table. However the place was packed, even early in the evening. As we perused the menu, undecided, the restaurant owner quickly identified us as Brits and said not to worry as he would 'take care' of us. We were slightly disconcerted by this, but didn't need to be, as we were soon devouring starters of Portabello mushrooms, fried peppers and calamari and then won ton soup, followed by sesame chicken with sweet potato, beef with pak choi and shrimp with apple. All delicious and very much enjoyed. When all was eaten we were asked if we would like any more food, but we were all full. Ah - you say - but what about the bill? Well, at $120 for 4 of us including 5 x drinks, we didn't feel that we had been 'had' by any means. Yes, the pace is brisk here, but we didn't feel rushed. This is a business with limited space that depends on bums on seats, so you cannot argue about the efficiency of the staff. The owner pointed out a picture of one of his previous customers, a Mr Jamie Oliver, on the wall. Cheesy, but we would agree that this place is full of character and, indeed, 'pukka'!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lindy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy F, Manager at House of Nanking, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Sounds like we really did take care of you during your visit with us, Lindy87. Choosing a menu for our guests is what we do best, and I'm glad you all decided to go with it rather than resist. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate you finding the character and charm in our restaurant and look forward to your next trip to San Francisco.

Best,
Kathy, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,852)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,015 - 1,019 of 1,852 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

We were exploring Chinatown one day last week, and on the recommendation of our Sonoma tour guide Adam, from Green Dream Tours, we stopped at the House of Nanking for lunch. I wasn't sure we were in the right place, it wasn't high on atmosphere, but we were seated immediately, and were soon poring over the menu. The owner came by and asked if we'd ever been there and we said no. He collected the menus after making sure we didn't have any allergies or religious restrictions with food, and we were treated to the best meal we've ever eaten in a Chinese restaurant. I only wish I had more room in my stomach, because after what we did sample, I wanted to try everything on the menu. We will definitely come back next time we are in the city.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bananabrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy F, Manager at House of Nanking, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Looks like you have at least one excuse to come back to San Francisco – us! We're glad you took the advice of your tour guide and joined us for lunch. Ordering for our guests is one of the things we do best, so I'm happy you took advantage of that. Sounds like we exceeded all of your expectations.

We appreciate your kind words and enthusiasm about our food and are glad you took the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor. Think it's time for another trip to San Francisco? We do!

Thanks again,
Kathy, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I've had the Sesame Chicken twice now, and I would not recommend it. It's tough and sticks in your teeth. The salt and pepper shrimp is excellent. I recommend ordering it instead. The House of Nanking is a standard Chinatown experience, and is dependable for good but not great Chinese food. It's cheap and they only take cash, no credit card. Service is harried and could definitely be more helpful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HolyBattGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy F, Manager at House of Nanking, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

The salt and pepper shrimp is an excellent suggestion! Thanks for making it, HolyBattGirl. And thanks for taking the time to write this review. We wish you thought our food was great, not just good, but appreciate your support nonetheless.

We hope to see you on your next visit to San Francisco!

Best,
Kathy, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Went there based on the opinions voiced. The service - leaves something to be desired - you get a feeling they just want you to get on with it; if you do happen to hem and haw over the menu - just leave it to them - the recommendations are good! All in all a clean restaurant - not too high on decor; worth the visit for the food!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chirurgien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy F, Manager at House of Nanking, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Glad to hear you paid attention to the advice of other reviewers and came by. It sounds like your visit with us was filled with authentic service and delicious food. We love ordering for our guests, so I appreciate you pointing out that aspect of the experience we offer. Please come back and see us the next time you're in San Francisco — we'd love to see you again!

Thanks,
Kathy, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We already know what to expect here. A great place to have Chinese food. The other reviews are right in that the wait staff appears to be rude. What they are is efficient and they like to keep things moving. If you are hemming and hawing about what to get, they will not hesitate to suggest something to move you along.

But at the same time I have never felt hurried and linger over my blossom tea as we take in the atmosphere. But we don't come here for the ambiance. We come for their pot stickers with that "to die for" peanut sauce or the house special, the crunchy Sesame Chicken. If in doubt, get two orders of the pot stickers. Yummy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank williequin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy F, Manager at House of Nanking, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

When it comes to our service and food, it sounds like you really understand us! Our goal is definitely not to be rude, but efficient as you've said. We're glad you don't feel rushed and have the time to truly enjoy your food as well as the entire experience.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your opinion in this 5-star review.

Thanks,
Kathy, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Nanking also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to House of Nanking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing