We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chinatown experience”
Review of House of Nanking

House of Nanking
Ranked #123 of 5,839 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Description: House of Nanking is a staple Chinese restaurant in San Francisco. Our recipes transpire from traditional recipes that have been updated based on our own experiences. We like to recreate standard dishes and give it a twist. At House of Nanking, one of the popular things to order is in fact not to order yourself! We are fantastic at putting together a dish for you based on what you like. Our menu is constantly changing and dishes are rotated around. Some of our dishes, however, are favorites and have been around for quite some time. These special dishes include: Nanking sesame chicken, fried potstickers with peanut sauce, shrimp packets with peanut sauce, house noodles and fried calamari.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Good place! Let the owner decide for you! Excelent choices! Good prices!
You can see the kitchen ( always importat for me). A little messy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tere D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy F, Manager at House of Nanking, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Tere, thanks for your kind words and excellent advice on letting us take care of our guests. Looking forward to seeing you the next time you're in San Francisco!

Until then,
Kathy, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,852)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,022 - 1,026 of 1,852 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

We queued, despite having booked, on a Friday night, chatting to lovely locals who obviously make a regular habit of the House. Tiny and packed with chairs and tables squeezed into every corner and busy servers desperate to get you seated and fed - great if you want quick eats, not ideal if you want a relaxed or romantic evening. Sesame chicken was superb, house noodles a little bland and not a fan of the sauteed calamari (big chunks of bland, cheewy squid)...and 45 minutes later we were back out on the street!

Thank Nic H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy F, Manager at House of Nanking, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

You're right, Nic, we're not necessarily the best spot for a lengthy dinner. But then again we're not your average restaurant. Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We wish we could've wowed you during your time with us. Next time you're in San Francisco I hope you'll come visit us again. Since you'll have different expectations, I'm confident you'll have a wonderful experience.

Thanks again,
Kathy, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Our tour guide told us about this place in China Town and we were so glad she did. The owner came around and asked if we had any food restrictions, none of us did, so he promptly took back all our menus and that's when this most amazing dining experience started. Appetizer was sauteed Portobello mushrooms followed by soup and egg rolls, not your typical egg rolls, these were stuffed with fish, so yummy! We also had soup, beef with bok choy, and a most wonderful dish of shrimp and apples. The Jasmin tea was also delicious and entertaining, you'll just have to order it to see what I'm talking about.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Cilla76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy F, Manager at House of Nanking, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thanks for letting us take care of you! We're so glad you took your tour guide's advice and came to see us and even happier you enjoyed all of your dishes. Appreciate you taking the time to write this review, and we hope we're on your "must-visit list" when you come back to San Francisco.


Thanks again,
Kathy, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Went here on recommendation of hotel desk receptionist. Took a cable care(great experience). Food was delicious! Atmosphere is hard to describe.....dark, crowded, very busy, people waiting in line to get in. Would def recommend and go again!

1  Thank Birkie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy F, Manager at House of Nanking, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Birkie2, we're glad you followed your hotel's recommendation. It sounds like you had a great time. You're right. Our atmosphere is hard to describe, but it's probably unlike anything you're ever experienced! We're thrilled you enjoyed our dishes and look forward to seeing you again the next time you're in San Francisco.

Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We really appreciate it!

Best,
Kathy, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us by one of the local vendors in China Town. Thankfully we got there early and didn't have to wait because by the time we left, the line was down the street. Crowded and buzzing, our food was served quickly. Our meal was delicious, authentic and very tasty as well as reasonably priced. We were so impressed that we went back for dinner the next evening (with a reservation). I would definitely recommend you give this place a try when visiting SF. Little tip - you have to try the flowering blossom tea!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Nadia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy F, Manager at House of Nanking, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thanks for this wonderful review, Nadia! We appreciate you taking the time to write it. Sounds like those local China Town vendors steered you in the right direction. We're glad you listened and are even happier you felt compelled to come back for dinner the next night.

Great suggestion with our flowering blossom tea! We hope to see you the next time you're in San Francisco.

Take care,
Kathy, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Nanking also viewed

 

Been to House of Nanking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing