We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but pricey”

North Beach Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
North Beach Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #116 of 5,693 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Cross street: Between Union St. and Green St. on Stockton St.
Transit: Located at the corner of Stockton Street & Columbus Avenue in North Beach, available MUNI Bus lines are: *30 Stockton *15 Third *45 Union
Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good but pricey”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Fast service and the food was really good. I had enough to eat but my husband had a pasta dish and was still hungry after eating. I think they are a little over priced for the amount that you get.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pamjayne58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    167
    72
    39
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
482 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“Good Italian food, charismatic service”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We were quite fortunate. We had a great table near the window for our party of 7, and an amazing waiter who was very competent and had a great sense of humour. The wines were good, and the food was delicious. I had the prosciutto and melon for an appetizer, and it was the best I have had. It was a very generous serving. I ordered risotto and mushrooms for an entree and I was slightly underwhelmed by the size of the portion. However, it ended up being just what I needed. I looked over at my dining companions and those who had ordered fish had a very generous serving, more than they could eat. So the serving portions are rather out of line with each other.

There was a machine nearby that observed being used - it created a sorbet that could be had as a palette cleanser or dessert. It was served in a champagne glass. We would have had one if we were not so full.

One note: one of our party wanted vodka as a drink. The waiter recommended an Italian vodka called MezzoLuna. NEVER heard of an Italian vodka before, but she tried it and loved it. I have read that it has a taste of nutty chocolate followed by lemon. She said it was so delicious that she could have easily had too much. Nothing like she had ever had before.

Overall, a lovely meal. Would return in a heartbeat.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 45DegreesNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
137 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Close to Club Fugazi (Beach Blanket Babylon)”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Wanted to be close to Beach Blanket Babylon and this was just a block away. Excellent Italian food as is common in this area of North Beach. Suggest making a reservation to avoid a loooong wait unless you're a regular. Quirky old guy waiters are excellent although somewhat slow. Pricing is mid range for SF as our dinner was under $100 for two with wine, anti pasta plus a main course for each of us.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MNEAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okatie, South Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Resturant!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Hard to believe this old time classic is not rated more favorably. We have eaten dinner here several times and have never been disappointed. Great variety and ample portions. Cozy without being stuffy. Always try to work it into out trip. Great staff!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Classic Italian favorite”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

This is one of SF's best Italian restaurants. Food is very good, the service is first rate and the atmosphere is cozy and vibrant. There is a reason this one continues to draw a steady clientele. This is the place San Franciscans go for a great Italian meal.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Blacktieranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Beach Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to North Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing