We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“taste experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of B44

B44
Reserve with OpenTable
B44 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #731 of 5,541 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $100
Cuisines: Spanish, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Financial District
Cross street: Bush & Kearny
Transit: BART Station. Montgomery
Orillia, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“taste experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is an interesting tapas restaurant tucked in a side street with a few others. Outdoor seating are fairly tight quarters, indoors a bit better. Active busy place so given close quarters not a good place for private conversation. My wife and I had excellent appetizers and I had one of the best lamb main courses I have had. Coupled with a bottle of Spanish wine it was a memorable meal. Recommend highly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gregpj63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    95
    29
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
172 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“not what we expected”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Looking forward to nice spanish dinner but was very disapointed
When we arrived, they didnt have our reservations but seated us anyway
Waiter was pleasant.
Appy of shrimp w/avocado was good
We each ordered a different paella. They were so peppery we found them hard to eat. We picked out the seafood, etc since we were hungry and left
would not go back or recommend this place

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ronadebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Minnesota
Level Contributor
120 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

My expectations were higher than what I experienced. I had the noodle paella dish. The noodles seemed a bit greasy. The seafood was ok but not great. The dish came with two whole shrimp on top. The shrimp were flavorless and could have been so much better. Honestly, i felt like I was eating a bowl of Rice A Roni. There could have been some good spices or something used. Very disappointing. The highpoint of my meal was the beet salad. The greens were super fresh and the goat cheese delicious.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gregg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fun tapas bar for a group event or friends, but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Ok admittedly it was Friday night at 8:30 but the service was lame - 5 of us stood at the bar for 10 minutes and could not even get eye contact from the bartender...with no one in front of us...then we get seated and no waiter no water for another 10 minutes until we flagged a busboy. Got water but no bread no menus. When the waiter shows up he goes straight to specials and the menu without taking drink order...paella was fair, pork loin dry, baby rack of lamb was good, cheese plate was good. Garlic shrimp was good, fried potatoes in aioli were good. Roasted sea bass was dry. Meat plate was good but when asked what we were served the waiter pointed to the cutting board and said it's all different kinds of chorizo?! Anyway, go and have sangria and fun, but keep your expectations in check.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris_helen90266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Now that we have been to Barcelona I can say it's pretty good. Loved the food the service is good, sangria is good. Would come back again and again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed B44 also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to B44? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing