We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of B44

B44
44 Belden Pl, San Francisco, CA 94104-2802 (Financial District)
415-986-6287
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
B44 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #679 of 5,307 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $21 - $100
Cuisines: Spanish, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Financial District
Cross street: Bush & Kearny
Transit: BART Station. Montgomery
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Now that we have been to Barcelona I can say it's pretty good. Loved the food the service is good, sangria is good. Would come back again and again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Leandro
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Dishonest manager!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We got the Travel Zoo deal--dinner for two people for $44 (reg. $79)
* Try any two tapas/appetizers (excluding the Iberico ham) on the menu, any entree or paella to share and a dessert to split
* Sip on a drink each (cocktails, wine, beer and non-alcoholic beverages; up to $10 value)

The food was delicious however the manager gave us a hard time when it came to paying the bill. We ordered two tapas ($13 squid and $13 shrimp/scallops), 1 paella, 1 dessert, and instead of getting 2 drinks (up to $10 value each) we decided to get a pitcher of sangria that cost $36 and the server was kind to let us pay the difference of $16. When it was time to pay the bill, the balance due was $38 before tip??? I was expecting to pay $16(difference of sangria) +$4 (sf health mandate) + $9 (tax)= $29. I asked the manager how did they come up with $38 and she said she subtracted $16 (sangria difference) minus the certificate value of $79 equals $63, then she subtracted the $63 from the check value of $101 which equaled to $38. I still don't understand as we ordered what was included in the deal and I was only expecting to pay $29. Ten dollars is not a big deal whatever we paid for it but what made us upset is the fact that she didn't want to admit that she sneaked in an extra $10 on the bill and didn't own up to it. Instead she told us that it was the "computer" who made the calculations and she is sorry. We were so upset that we only left a $1 bill for the tip. You know thinking about it, I feel really guilty that we left so little for tip because it wasn't the servers and kitchen staffs fault. We were planning to come back and we were more than happy to tip $20 for our dinner because the food was delicious and we were happy with our server. The fact that the manager was dishonest is the reason why we are not coming back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san rocco
Level Contributor
226 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“good food ridiculous service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The tapas are pretty genuine, the place is pleasant, the price fair, but the service is really a joke, tons of waiters running around doing nothing while people wait for a too long time to place their orders. You have to call them three or four times before they pay any attention to you. Really annoying, especially because you see them standing there looking at the horizon and not at the restaurant guests.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marrei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great little gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

You will find this restaurant on a small street between buildings and sandwiched between other small unique restaurants. They all created outside seating under covered awnings spaning across the alley way.
Sat outside under a heated and covered awning. Fun place to eat. Great tapas plates (the Ceviche B44 was delicious) and a very interesting cocktail menu.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank newyork1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California, USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious Catalan Food in a Fun Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

B44 is named after its location, 44 Belden Place, San Francisco, a small alley that manages to have 4 restaurants, most with covered outside seating, making it a San Francisco destination. The food was very tasty, well-prepared and presented tapas dishes, although the lack of tortilla espanola was a disappointment. The sangria was refreshing and went well with the meal. The staff can be a bit hit or miss, but overall friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank love-2-travel6319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed B44 also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to B44? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing