We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood & Fast Food”

Ferry Plaza Seafood
Reserve with OpenTable
Ferry Plaza Seafood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #615 of 5,693 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Description: 11:00Pm-3:30pm Lunch 3:30-5:30 Happy Hour 5:30-10:00pm Dinner
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Seafood & Fast Food”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were visiting the Ferry area in the San Francisco port and we wanted to take a fast food.
We seated in the Ferry Plaza and ask for two Cups of Chowder & Half Sandwich (shrimp & tuna).
My tuna sandwich was really very good.
We paid around $20 each one.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaime-2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    37
    17
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames
Level Contributor
185 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great food, surly waitress”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Had the soft shell crab and it was great. When we paid the bill, I left a 15% tip only to be asked: was there a problem? I said no and left, only to be told by American friends that they expect a 25% tip in restaurants. Maybe that's why the Slanted Door seafood take out bar at the other end of the Ferry building does a roaring trade!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 928JohnF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“no goldilocks!”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Kind of on the way to the airport we stopped at the ferry building for a peek at the water and a bite to eat. We sat down at the bar-type seating with a wonderful view of the water. The crab melt was incredible. It was served on a crunchy, hot roll with a one inch stack of crab meet and melted cheddar! Wow! Ordering the cup of soup and half a sandwich was plenty for me!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Obgrnp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good.”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The scenery is great. Food is ok. Oysters and clam chowder seemed on the small side. Also had the crabcake and a crab, both were OK. Did not try Hog Island so could not compare.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pengboon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not bad.”
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

After a long flight, we walked to the Terminal from the Clift. Our intentions we're to go to Hog Island, however; the line was long with an unknown wait. Since we were starving, we went next door to Ferry Plaza. We sat right down and a lot of others in line got the same idea. It became quite busy. My wife and I both had Chowder. I, White and she, Red. Both were tasty with the White, creamy and the Red with a hint of spice. We also shared a half of a Crab Melt Sandwich which was huge. We also had the Shrimp Quesadilla which had a nice compliment of in house made Guacamole and Salsa. Service was fine for as busy as it became and I would give them a try again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ferry Plaza Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Ferry Plaza Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing