We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LuLu - Ooh La La!”
Review of Lulu - CLOSED

Lulu
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: French, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: SoMa
Cross street: 4th & 5th Sts.
Transit: Powell St. BART; MUNI, SamTrans at 4th & King
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“LuLu - Ooh La La!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This contemporary Povencal inspired favorite continues to stay on its game. The format encourages family style dining. The relaxed yet up-tempo atmosphere enhances group dynamics and food is presented honestly without extraneous embellishments. Here, fresh is first and foremost as was evidenced by the mixed shellfish platter. The oysters were spectacular (and I am not a big oyster fan). One of the great favorites here are the roasted mussels. On this trip I fell in love with the truffle oil parmesan fries...OMG these are amazing. The subtle truffle essence made them impossible to stop eating. The entrees were all stand outs including the plank roasted flounder, spit roast duck and bistro steak. Other dishes that were standouts were the portobello mushrooms with polenta and marscapone cheese. Desserts were equally on target with good variety but the winner was the chocolate breadpudding. Amazingly seductive textures and flavors. Note to the chef - please bring back the roasted artichoke with fried lemon. That was a wonderful starter and a real signature dish that deserves to stay on the menu.

While the restaurant has been lauded by Wine Spectator (among others for its wine list) I was frankly put off by a wine list whose prices for the most part exceeded $100 (and hovered more in the $175-$250 range and above).These days the expense account crowd can't spend like drunken sailors any more and the rest of us are watching our pennies as they devalue. Can't this excellent restaurant edit a wider range of excellent affordable wines by the bottle? Yes they are available by the glass but there really is a bit of a disconnect between the food prices and wine prices. That small issue aside LuLu does not disappoint and you are guaranteed a memorable dining experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LDGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    86
    47
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
portland, oregon
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Foodies rejoice!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

After a couple frenetic days at Fisherman's Wharf, this place was just what I needed. My favorite restaurants are the ones that focus not only on the food, but the setting, and Lulu's gets it just right. The atmosphere is calm, relaxed, casually elegant. The tables are well spaced to provide privacy and comfort, but close enough to maintain a feeling of intimacy in the restaurant. The dining room itself is interesting and beautiful. The staff are top-notch, clearly well trained and passionate about food and drink. The food is excellent - rustic fare made with the highest quality ingredients and with an eye for presentation, flavor and balance. We enjoyed everything we had, from cocktails to dessert, and would definitely come back. I will recommend Lulu's to everyone I know visiting San Francisco, and my only regret is that I didn't skip the tourist traps more frequently and come back here for a real meal!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pdx3818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Family style, but not for families”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Went here based on a recommendation from out hotel's concierge. Were looking for a family restaurant with an eclectic menu. Lulu's is located in SOMA section of the city, in a large and very attractively designed warehouse building. Service and wait staff were attentive. the highlight. The menu features a mix of wood-grilled pizzas and rotisserie entrees (like suckling pig, chicken, etc.) Probably would have enjoyed this more on a date-night with my wife, but the choices were limited for our two children (14 and 11). If your kids like pizza, you'll manage, but generally no real options for those with unadventerous tastes.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank klorenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Great eating away from Fisherman's Wharf”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I enjoyed Lulu's with two beautiful women; my lady and her cousin who lives in Frisco. It was the cousin who selected the restaurant because it was only a few blocks from our hotel. So, with two ladies, I already have a positive bias.

Lulu has a contemporary decor with an open hearth fireplace for its oak-fired rotisserie items. It's menu has an appealing variety. We ordered 4 items and shared each of them. I thought the portions were more than ample. We had (a) a tomato dish with different types of tomatoes, (b) fennel scented pork loin from the rotisserie, (c) swordfish and (d) top sirloin. Each dish was accompanied with veggies or potatoes. This was a wonderful dining experience ... but it doesn't rate a cigar.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beyondthebull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lunch was mediocre”
Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Went to LuLu for lunch yesterday and was surprised by how scarcely populated it was. I haven't been in four or five years but it doesn't seem as popular as it once was. That being said, my chicken sandwich was good, but not very special. My friend swears that the Cajun cheeseburger is the best thing on the lunch menu so I will have to order that next time. The service was good, will probably go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lulu also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing