We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be in a rush”
Review of Palomino

Palomino
Reserve with OpenTable
Palomino is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #840 of 5,693 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: American, French, Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: SoMa
Cross street: Folsom
Transit: Muni N Line - Folsom Station/ BART Embarcadero
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't be in a rush”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I went here for a 'quick lunch'. Even though we ordered the salad/pasta combo, a standard lunch-time offering that you would expect to be served quickly, the service was particularly slow. The food itself was OK, nothing exciting and quite pricey for the size of the portions. The location is great for business and tourists - at the end of the Embarcadero, with great views of the Bay Bridge. The large windows make every table one with a view and I imagine that this would be a good place for large groups as it is large and airy, with a lot of space. If you want somewhere to sit over a long meal and are happy to pay for the view, this is for you. If you're in a rush and are hungry, don't bother.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Purplepuppy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matton B, Guest Relations Manager at Palomino, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Purplepuppy1,

Thank you for the review. We appreciate the kind words. Your comments about service pace have also been noted and will be addressed with the staff. Thanks you again for the review.

Cheers - The Palomino Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    66
    42
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
80 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food, drink, poor atmosphere, overpriced, poor access, lousy service”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Saturday afternoon, I was invited to dine with a couple of pals. Access is poor on weekends. The food was good (thin-crust mushroom pizza, a bit soggy) and drinks too (house Chardonnay), but the prices were high and the service really, really lousy. Too noisy too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matton B, Guest Relations Manager at Palomino, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Barney P,

We apologize for the poor service and experience. We take our operation seriously and strive to offer a great all around experience to our guests.

Your comments have been noted and we look forward to using them to improve our operations.

Thank you again for the feedback.

Best - The Palomino Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place for HH”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This restaurant has a big lounge area that's great for Happy Hours. All the FiDi professionals hang out there after a long day. Good drinks and apps. Not a fan of the dinner here.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matton B, Guest Relations Manager at Palomino, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Alice L

Thank you for your feedback and comments. Happy to hear you love the happy hour. You comments about dinner have also been noted.

Cheers - The Palomino Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Spectacular Dining Experience”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We waited for family at the bar, what an experience! The end closest to the Bay Bridge is where the bartenders make the drinks for the whole restaurant. It was a busy night and I was entranced by the whole process! These guys made hundreds of drinks so quickly. They were very nice and chatted with us while we waited. We were seated shorty there after. Our table was in the window with a spectacular view of the Bay Bridge! Our waiter Austin took very good care of us. He accommodated our special requests. The wedge salad was awesome, the deviled eggs were a great choice as well. The chicken pram was to die for. Not one person at our table was disappointed! Our table had ordered the lamb, chicken Marsala, steak frite as well. Dessert was a melt in your mouth delight!! Looking forward to returning to San Francisco to eat here!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank suenyyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matton B, Guest Relations Manager at Palomino, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
suenyyfan,

Thanks so much for the great review and kind words. Happy to hear our staff took great care of you and everyone enjoyed the food, views and service. Thanks again for dining at Palomino!

Cheers - The Palomino Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Overlooked Gem”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I have had dozens of meals, business and pleasure, at Palomino over 15+ years and recommend it highly. I don't know why Palomino doesn't appear in the San Francisco Zagat's because it should. The food is consistently delicious and memorable. Service is always professional and timely. If you want a quiet table you can get it. And you're looking directly out at SF Bay. What's not to like? The best part is the parking! Park directly underneath the restaurant for validated parking for $2 for 11am to 2pm. That would cost $30 in the Embarcadero Center garages three blocks away. Easy in and out for car commuters.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank walter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matton B, Guest Relations Manager at Palomino, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
walter m,

Thank you for the kind words and great review. We appreciate your continued patronage and great feedback. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Cheers - The Palomino Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palomino also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Palomino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing